Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
91 user(s) are online (59 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 89

Firetail, davec555, more...

Headlines

Register To Post  

A1222 FPU thoughts
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
I've been thinking about how the floating point could be handled on the P1022.

One thing I don't believe was discussed is a dynamic patching of the ELF binaries at load time. I've done a bit of reading online on ELF - there are a lot of cool ideas out there for patching binaries. But please I'm no expert.

First thought is simply patching the incompatible calls to instead jump into a compatibility library/shared object, or even some extra compatibility code patched directly into the memory space of the program at run time. This could be done each time the binary is loaded.

Second thought is patching and saving the patched version either into the EXE (fat binary) or into a side file. However it may not be worth the effort if the load-time patching is fast enough. I expect this to be true.

I expect patching of the binaries would perform better than working with the trap instructions. The ELF modules already go though a relocation phase - how hard could patching be on top of that?? <evil grin>

Thoughts?

Go to top
Re: A1222 FPU thoughts
Amigans Defender
Amigans Defender

See User information
@gregthecanuck

Since the math Library is doing the floating point math, there is no point in patching any program.

Te audire no possum. Musa sapientum fixa est in aure.
Ad eundum quo nemo ante iit.
Go to top
Home away from home
Home away from home

See User information
@gregthecanuck

I have no looked at data-sheet for that CPU, on what instructions are missing and what is not.
It really depends on how many are missing and if they are normally used by the compiler or not.