Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
52 user(s) are online (39 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 52

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





[help!]Failed to update u-boot from 0.1.1 to 1.1.1 on A1
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/9/27 16:41
Posts: 1
I just bought an A1 and found the firmware was very old.
Then I downloaded u-boot 1.1.1 from http://www.hyperion-entertainment.biz:8080/

CDROM was successfully loaded after power on.
I executed 'diskboot 500000 0:0' then 'bootm'
2-3 seconds later the system automatically restarted.

See the err screenshot


Can anybody help?

Resized Image

   Report Go to top

Re: [help!]Failed to update u-boot from 0.1.1 to 1.1.1 on A1
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/6/27 19:43
From Market Drayton, England
Posts: 52
@dahdao

If I recall correctly I had the same problem. I ended up sending the UBoot rom to Sven at Stella Dreams back in October 2004 to update it to v1.1.1. I also seem to recall that the original UBoot roms could not be reflashed by software whilst in the A1.

clint

   Report Go to top

Re: [help!]Failed to update u-boot from 0.1.1 to 1.1.1 on A1
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:17
From Israel
Posts: 932
@dahdao

Did the reflashing occur? There is some during the process (at least when done via tftp).
Or the screenshot is after resetting the A1 after the reflashing?
Please elaborate.

Jack

_________________
Resized Image
"the expression, 'atonal music,' is most unfortunate--it is on a par with calling flying 'the art of not falling,' or swimming 'the art of not drowning.'. A. Schoenberg
   Report Go to top

Re: [help!]Failed to update u-boot from 0.1.1 to 1.1.1 on A1
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3228
@clint

Agreed - that's almost certainly one of the early protected ROMs. The chip will need to be extracted and sent to somebody with the necessary equipment to be replaced/reflashed.

   Report Go to top

Re: [help!]Failed to update u-boot from 0.1.1 to 1.1.1 on A1
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/6/27 19:43
From Market Drayton, England
Posts: 52
@Chris and dahdao

See my post #19 over at amigaworld.net give a lot more info.

clint

   Report Go to top

Re: [help!]Failed to update u-boot from 0.1.1 to 1.1.1 on A1
Supreme Council
Joined:
2006/11/19 18:16
From London, England
Posts: 1294
@clint

Well, as you didn't supply a link to the thread over at AW, I am replying here.

The image you are trying to boot is the updater image, which is crashing. What happens if you cold reset and try to boot normally? Does it boot OK?

I'm thinking it could be the updater image that is corrupted, not UBoot itself.

If you really need a new ROM, I have some here, which I can flash for you.

Simon

   Report Go to top

Re: [help!]Failed to update u-boot from 0.1.1 to 1.1.1 on A1
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/6/27 19:43
From Market Drayton, England
Posts: 52
@Rigo

Its dahdao that has the problem, I was only telling him/her of my past experience with the UBoot ROM reflash. Dahdao has also put the same topic/thread over on amigaworld.net with the same title.

clint

   Report Go to top

Re: [help!]Failed to update u-boot from 0.1.1 to 1.1.1 on A1
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/6/27 19:43
From Market Drayton, England
Posts: 52
@Rigo

Just had a look at amigaworld.net. The thread is, at this moment in the recent topics area.

clint

   Report Go to top

Re: [help!]Failed to update u-boot from 0.1.1 to 1.1.1 on A1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1336

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
   Report Go to top

Re: [help!]Failed to update u-boot from 0.1.1 to 1.1.1 on A1
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/6/27 19:43
From Market Drayton, England
Posts: 52
@Elwood

Thanks for providing the link.

clint

   Report Go to top

Re: [help!]Failed to update u-boot from 0.1.1 to 1.1.1 on A1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/6 21:18
From Michigan
Posts: 1027
Hi @Elwood

Thanks for the link!! My A1 was delivered April 2003 and ROM chip was not flashable. I got the new ROM from Compuquick in June of 2003 and that is the one still going today!

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project