Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
125 user(s) are online (77 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 125

more...

Headlines

Register To Post  

About DDC capabilities
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

See User information
Hi there,

I have a SyncMaster Samsung monitor and noticed its min/max frequencies were not correctly detected by OS4.1's DDC.
I was about to report a bug on the OS4 bugzilla when I wanted to check on a WinXP machine.

Guess what? It's wrong even on Win!

So beware some monitors out there don't play by the rules!

(I used this software on Win: DTuner)

Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
Go to top
Re: About DDC capabilities
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
@Elwood

Its not uncommon for LCD monitor's to report incorrect DDC information.

I would have thought a Samsung would be ok, and only cheap chinese "brands" more likely to be wrong, but I guess not.

Go to top
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

See User information
@HammerD

Same for me :-/

Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
Go to top
Supreme Council
Supreme Council

See User information
@Elwood

See, you are so quick to doubt OS4 :)

In actual fact, DDC information is not the only type of data that is reported wrongly by many devices out there.
Many USB devices (especially the cheaper Asian variety) simply don't care about standards at all, and what's even more shocking is the amount of well branded items that don't adhere to the rules of their class either. This is one of the reasons Linux has a huge blacklist of USB devices, and why MicroSoft get the manufacturers to write their own drivers.