Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
76 user(s) are online (62 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 74

MichaelMerkel, Lio, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Window width > screen width ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/2/27 10:47
From Gravity well
Posts: 613
Is it correct that I may not have a window that is wider than the screen? If I drag a window to the left and out, I can't extend it to the right hand side. It didn't matter whether I activate easy dragging outside the screen in "GUI" or press shift to do it.

   Report Go to top

Re: Window width > screen width ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/2/27 10:47
From Gravity well
Posts: 613
I found out it is incorrect. But I noticed two MUI applications didn't allow a wide window, AmigaShell did. When the shell window was overwide, moving it went super sluggish. That is with hardware compositing and about 90 MB VRAM available.

   Report Go to top

Re: Window width > screen width ?
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/12/5 3:00
Posts: 51
@Thematic

On AmigaOS you can't have a window wider than the screen ... until recently.

The 3.1.4 version of intuition.library will let you do it and so does AmigaOS 4.x.

   Report Go to top

Re: Window width > screen width ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2019
@Thematic

Quote:

I found out it is incorrect. But I noticed two MUI applications didn't allow a wide window, AmigaShell did.


Yes indeed you can have a window that is wider thn the screen.

Quote:

When the shell window was overwide, moving it went super sluggish. That is with hardware compositing and about 90 MB VRAM available.


You probably increased the windows bitmaps width to wider than the limit for hardware compositing. (which varies from card to card) .

_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: Window width > screen width ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/2/27 10:47
From Gravity well
Posts: 613
@broadblues

Then I'm guessing the compositing limit is 1920 wide in my case (newshell command doesn't seem to do this, or I do not know about it, so it's set manually).

   Report Go to top

Re: Window width > screen width ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2019
@Thematic

It's probably 2048 (2k), but window bitmaps are a bit larger than the window size (allowing for shadows etc) so the practical limit for screen and window size is a bit less than that.

On my SAM with a R9250 card I can in principle just get a HD (1920x1080) screen (though I have a older 1280 sized monitor so don't try) so the practical limit is probably just alittle more than 1920 thus only a small increase in window size from the HD screen width will hit that limit.


_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project