Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
66 user(s) are online (57 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 64

mufa, samo79, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





SFS2 corruption on x5000
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/3 23:51
From France
Posts: 380
Hi all,
I am getting corruption on a SSD partition on p5020sata.device which uses SFS2.

the error is :
findextentbnode: findbnode() can't find key 3697896!
error=0 *returned_bnode=6F665A9C (*returned_bnode) ->key=3697656

since I have valuable data in this partition, how do I fix this and why is it happening ? I never had this kind of error on my trusty AmigaOneXEG4 but I am regularly getting this error specially in Odyssey folder...


   Report Go to top

Re: SFS2 corruption on x5000
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 3169
@Lio

Probably corrupt data coming from Odyssey's cache.

You could try to point it's cache to somewhere else (another partition, ram or something

And do make a backup immediately

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: SFS2 corruption on x5000
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/3 23:51
From France
Posts: 380
yes sure but now, I even get corruption in my diary file from AOrganiser (commercial version) !!! thats insane, all my calendar since I use AOrganiser is gone...

   Report Go to top

Re: SFS2 corruption on x5000
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 3169
@Lio

Ouch

Do you maybe have a second setup?

It sounds that bad that i would refrain from using the ssd any longer for "normal" work.
I only hope that the problems aren't as bad when you don't use the ssd as boot drive. Otherwise it could get hideous. :-/

Boot with the BootCD and do a mirror backup of your drive.
Once you are sure the data is saved, format the ssd and recopy your stuff.
Better add a second hdd as backup.

You can use backup from Onyxsoft.
It does 1:1 copies, preserves links and doesn't crunch the files.
A simple "copy clone" to save your data back to a new hdd is all you need afterwards

Good luck

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: SFS2 corruption on x5000
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/5/2 12:14
From Sweden
Posts: 495
@Lio

You always need two physical disks IMO. Wether permanently installed or a USB backup disk. Disks break down all the time, including SSD. You simply need backup.

Got a new PC at work with SSD. Worked great for 3 weeks, then crashed and never started again. Replaced the SSD and it has been runnning for 4 years.

I have setup BackUp using DRemind to backup all my partitions automatically and regularly. And just the other day my primary harddisk started to show signs of resignation. Good thing I have a mirror backup setup and ready to go

_________________
Software developer for Amiga OS3 and OS4.
Develops for OnyxSoft and the Amiga using E and C and occasionally C++
   Report Go to top

Re: SFS2 corruption on x5000
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/3 23:51
From France
Posts: 380
@Denii : well I have bad experience with backup HDD : from one day to the other the backup partition was gone...

@Raziel : how to make odyssey points to another location ? I dont see anything in the prefs

This SSD is a 40Gb from Corsair, turn o/f 1400 times and worked for more than 300 hours and the SSD software on the pc says it is healthy at 97% so I am more suspecting SFS2 assocaited with X-5000 to generate corruption.

back to my question : is there a tool to repair ?


   Report Go to top

Re: SFS2 corruption on x5000
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/2 0:35
From Sydney
Posts: 670
Nothing to repair SFS partitions, no.

_________________
cheers
tony
   Report Go to top

Re: SFS2 corruption on x5000
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 3169
@Lio

True, Odyssey can't do that, i was thinking of another browser, sorry for the mixup. (Though you can always put Odyssey on it's own partition and start it from a script, that way, if Odyssey was the culprit, it will crash only it's own data the next time it fails, which hopefully never comes)

I'm using a SFS2 formatted external HDD, which i attach through USB when doing backups.
I do them by the quarter of a year and it saved me already many times.

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project