Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
59 user(s) are online (49 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 57

Raziel, Rigo, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Polaris - Mplayer problem
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/27 20:35
From Poland
Posts: 95
Mplayer running on Polaris cards can not use the comp_yuv2 mode.
Is it the fault of the Radeon RX driver? Or maybe the Radeon RX offers exactly the same video support as Radeon HD v2, just need a new customized for Polaris Mplayer compilation?

   Report Go to top

Re: Polaris - Mplayer problem
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/29 14:12
From Montserrat
Posts: 167
@mufa

Problem seems to be with Mpayer versions.

LiveforitMplayer 6.4 works.

MickJT mplayer does not.

Emotion also works.

Polaris X5000 Video playback performance discussed here :
https://amigaworld.net/modules/news/ar ... oryid=8282&start=20#99984


   Report Go to top

Re: Polaris - Mplayer problem
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/4/28 3:57
From Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 904
Does LiveForIt-MPlayer 6.5.7 work?

http://os4depot.net/share/video/play/liveforit-mplayerng.lha

When using 6.4, check the shell output and see if it's really using comp_yuv2 or just comp_yuv (or just comp).

Altivec or non-Altivec? Does it crash, freeze, or something else? DSI/ISI? Empty window? And do test LiveForIt-MPlayer 6.5.7. It's closest to mickjt-mplayer.

@mufa

You didn't mention which version of mplayer you were trying to run, and whether it's for altivec or not. Paste all the lines that say something like "VO: [somethinghere] text here".

Version 6.4 doesn't have the same checks that later versions do.

In later versions there is a check to see if RadeonHD.chip is being used, and I suspect that check is failing with RadeonRX.

You'd then see something in the shell like:

VO: [comp_yuv2] You need RadeonHD to use this video output.


Edited by MickJT on 2018/11/5 5:33:22
Edited by MickJT on 2018/11/5 5:44:14
Edited by MickJT on 2018/11/5 5:51:04
Edited by MickJT on 2018/11/6 0:06:29
   Report Go to top

Re: Polaris - Mplayer problem
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/4/28 3:57
From Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 904
I've not tested this (nor am I able to). I just disabled the check for RadeonHD.chip in comp_yuv2. non-altivec build.

https://www.sendspace.com/file/byyesp

   Report Go to top

Re: Polaris - Mplayer problem
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1963
@mufa

RadeonRX is feature equivalent to RadeonHD.chip v3, so composited video works fine.

@MickJT
Quote:
I've not tested this (nor am I able to). I just disabled the check for RadeonHD.chip in comp_yuv2. non-altivec build.

MPlayer has a check for RadeonHD.chip? The correct way to check for composited video, is to call CompositeTags() with a YUV source bitmap and the hardware-only flag set. It'll return an error if YUV source bitmaps aren't supported.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Polaris - Mplayer problem
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/27 20:35
From Poland
Posts: 95
@MickJT

Quote:
I've not tested this (nor am I able to). I just disabled the check for RadeonHD.chip in comp_yuv2. non-altivec build.

https://www.sendspace.com/file/byyesp


Thanks. This version works well with comp_2yuv mode.

   Report Go to top

Re: Polaris - Mplayer problem
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/29 14:12
From Montserrat
Posts: 167
@MickJT

LiveForIt-MPlayer 6.5.7 does not work.
Seems to also be failing to detect the hardware capabilities correctly .

VO: [comp_yuv2] Welcome man !.
gfx_nodri = 0
VO: [comp_yuv2] You need RadeonHD to use this video output.
Error opening/initializing the selected video_out (-vo) device.



LiveForIt-MPlayer 6.4 cli output

VO: [comp_yuv2] Welcome man !.


Edited by Spectre660 on 2018/11/5 9:38:29
Edited by Spectre660 on 2018/11/5 9:42:23
   Report Go to top

Re: Polaris - Mplayer problem
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/4/28 3:57
From Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 904
@Hans

I'm not good at C. The vo_comp_yuv2.c I have is similar to the one on github: https://github.com/khval/mplayer-amiga ... /src/libvo/vo_comp_yuv2.c

It looks like the test you're talking about is already there. If I hard code "have_readeonhd" to TRUE (typo corrected in my source) as I've done in the test binary above, or was to remove that check altogether, it should still get to "if (have_compositing == FALSE)" and stop on machines that don't support it, however on my Sam Flex machine with a Radeon 9250SE, it passes that bitmap test, so have_bitmap_format and have_compositing are TRUE and I end up with a white window. Is the test being done wrongly?

   Report Go to top

Re: Polaris - Mplayer problem
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2007
@MickJT


*** deleted rubbish **

bah ignore that, talking nonesense....

But taking a second look I wonder if setting BMATags_Friend in the test bitmap is overidng teh requested pixel format resulting in a successful composite?

AS an aside the code is referencing &the_screen->BitMap anybosy who ever read the intuition include would know that that has been strongly discouraged since the 'dawn if time', it should be

the_screen->RastPort.BitMap

Quote:


/* ======================================================================== */
/* === Screen ============================================================= */
/* ======================================================================== */

/* VERY IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT Screen->BitMap. In the future, bitmaps
* will need to grow. The embedded instance of a bitmap in the screen
* will no longer be large enough to hold the whole description of
* the bitmap.
*
* YOU ARE STRONGLY URGED to use Screen->RastPort.BitMap in place of
* &Screen->BitMap whenever and whereever possible.
*/


That is ofcourse aimed at the author of the code not yourself

But as I said I thnk the use of Friend Bitmap and pixelfomat will prefer the friend bitmap , especially since it occurs after the pixel format tag.



Edited by broadblues on 2018/11/5 19:07:43
_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: Polaris - Mplayer problem
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1963
@MickJT
Quote:
I'm not good at C. The vo_comp_yuv2.c I have is similar to the one on github: https://github.com/khval/mplayer-amiga ... /src/libvo/vo_comp_yuv2.c

It looks like the test you're talking about is already there. If I hard code "have_readeonhd" to TRUE (typo corrected in my source) as I've done in the test binary above, or was to remove that check altogether, it should still get to "if (have_compositing == FALSE)" and stop on machines that don't support it, however on my Sam Flex machine with a Radeon 9250SE, it passes that bitmap test, so have_bitmap_format and have_compositing are TRUE and I end up with a white window. Is the test being done wrongly?

Yes, it is. If you look at the code, it's using the test_bitmap as both source and destination. The destination bitmap should be an RGBA one, and NOT the source bitmap. Since the operation is COMPOSITE_Src, the composite operation is effectively a no-op, which gets discarded.

The test call should closely match what no_clip_composite() does. Use the same operation, and render to a proper RGBA bitmap (e.g., the window itself or a friend bitmap of the screen).

My example code tests for composited video simply by blitting to the window, and checking the return code. You can fill the YUV bitmap with black before the test so it doesn't look ugly (the example code also shows how to write to YUV420p bitmaps). You can download the examples at the bottom of this page.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Polaris - Mplayer problem
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/4/28 3:57
From Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 904
I'm totally clueless on any of this sort of stuff, so despite it sounding easy, I'll probably get confused on what to do. I'll look at the linked page though.

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project