Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
91 user(s) are online (80 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 91

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





E-UAE locking up constantly
Just popping in
Joined:
6/30 0:18
From Palo Alto, California
Posts: 3
Hi, I have an X5000 with OS4.1. When I run any flavor of E-UAE, if I try Installing software from within the emulated environment, it locks up when it starts writing files to disk.

It seems like any disk write locks up, in fact. I even notice that when I try editing a text file with ed, it won’t lock up, but it has trouble allowing me to save changes.

I’ve been trying to install an emulated os3.9. I installed it to a directory from OS4.1 because it kept locking up in UAE. But now I’m stuck trying to install boing bags. P96 was tough, too, and had to be installed from within OS4.1.

Anyone have any ideas?

   Report Go to top

Re: E-UAE locking up constantly
Just popping in
Joined:
1/4 10:56
From Italy
Posts: 95
Hi cloverskull,
I do not own an X5000 (unfortunately)
Here is a link with a guide to which I referred, as well as all the advice received here on the forum.
https://amigax5000.blog/2017/08/27/a-f ... assic-mode-optimisations/

In my small using the emulation I installed picassoIV directly, using the "Picasso96 2.1.e" version
But I used the 3.1 did not create me any problem within UAE-SDL

I hope the guide is useful for you.

   Report Go to top

Re: E-UAE locking up constantly
Just popping in
Joined:
6/30 0:18
From Palo Alto, California
Posts: 3
Hi white,

Thanks! In fact that was the guide I was using as well, but unfortunately I am still having issues with all versions of UAE that I try :(

   Report Go to top

Re: E-UAE locking up constantly
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3537
@cloverskull
E-UAE's support for mounting the host's filing system is known to be a bit buggy.

I suggest creating & mounting a virtual hard disk partition, which you then format & use from inside E-UAE. Should be faster & much more reliable.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: E-UAE locking up constantly
Just popping in
Joined:
6/30 0:18
From Palo Alto, California
Posts: 3
@ChrisH,

Thanks! That fixes the issue. Bummer E-UAE isn't better at handling this, but I think I can make things work well enough with a hardfile.

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project