Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
81 user(s) are online (61 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 81

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Help me print, please (postscript printer)
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/1 3:20
From Michigan, USA
Posts: 359
I have added netprinter.device and set it up to match the reserved IP address for my Xerox Phaser 6280 printer with hardware Postscript. In the Printer and PrinterPS Prefs I have it set to "Device: netprinter.device unit 0" When I try to print I chose Postscript.

There is no sign of any kind of data going to the printer.

Can (has?) someone with a working Postscript printer setup under OS4.1 FE written a "How-to" complete with settings for everything?

My Xerox is hooked up to my router via ethernet and works correctly from all of the Windoze computers in the house. The Amiga is hooked up to the same router.

I remember reading in the past that if one has a REAL (hardware) Postscript printer, printing ought to work from OS4.1.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Paul

_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand The monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4 2GB Sii Radeon 9250 Catweasel MKIII NEC USB2 OS 4.1FE Update 1
   Report Go to top

Re: Help me print, please (postscript printer)
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/5 22:55
From Vantaa,Finland
Posts: 26
Hi,

I didn't manage to get netprinter.device to work with my X1000 + HP Laserjet M451 nw, but lpr.device works quite fine. From OS4Depot, download lpr_dev.lha. With it I did the following, (from the lpr.device doc):

- copy the lpr.device to DEVS:

- Edit DEVS:NSDPatch.cfg by adding the following lines:

DEVICE parallel.device UNIT 0 MAPTODEVICE lpr.device MAPTOUNIT 0

- Configuring with the env variable. There is documentation in the archive, I have done something like:

SetEnv lpr.device Save "HOST 192.xxx.yyy.zzz RAW"

where the four-byte IP address represents the one your printer is assigned to.

The Printer prefs is set like you have already done, althought he device is lpr.device. With these settings, I am able to print from AmiPDF, Multiview, CodeBench. As my printer is able to print PDFs directly, I can do something like

Copy mydoc.pdf PAR:


Marko


_________________
Marko Raina
   Report Go to top

Re: Help me print, please (postscript printer)
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/3 23:51
From France
Posts: 358
or use googlecloudprint with gcp.device !

works a treat ! no driver needed, except a computer which holds the printer and a google account.

   Report Go to top

Re: Help me print, please (postscript printer)
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/6 19:36
Posts: 405
@Lio


Oh my! I can't wait for googl to make a "privy.device" so all my sh1t goes through them before it comes back and comfortably gets flushed down the bowl in the room next to this! ;->

   Report Go to top

Re: Help me print, please (postscript printer)
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2833
@Paul

I have set up netprinter.device on my X1000 and it works a treat with a LaserJet 1320 over Ethernet.

Printer Prefs:
- Printer driver : PostScript
- Port device: netprinter.device
- Port unit: 0
- Always init printer: Checked

Also make sure to set the Density (Page size & margins) to something your printer understands, better set it below the max of your printer.
I'm using 300x300 DPI (my printer can do 600x600 DPI but it seems GhostScript has problems with that amount of data)

PrinterPS:
- Set the Driver mode to PostScript
- Adjust the used DPI values

Once you can print, you can play with the rest of the settings

NetPrinter.device Prefs:
Not much to do here but to set your printers address and the way the data is sent
- Hostname: IP of your printer, the same the Windows machine uses
Protocol: I use "Direct", but you need to check either which way the Windows machine sends the data to be on the same size or adjust the firmware of your printer, if possible, to accept Direct data
- Port: 9100

As i wrote in another thread, LPR stopped working for me after update 1 so i wouldn't try to use it with netprinter.device either

Good luck

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Help me print, please (postscript printer)
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/1 3:20
From Michigan, USA
Posts: 359
@Marko and Raziel

Thanks for trying gentlemen. I've followed your directions for both lpr and netprinter and still don't get anywhere. No sign of data going to the printer either way.

I have it set up as RAW 9100 as that's the port assigned on the printer.

Not a big deal now, but if we ever get libre office and I start doing some of my writing on the Amiga again, I'll want to be able to print.

Like others, I'm not thrilled with the idea of being constantly hooked up to Google.

Paul

_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand The monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4 2GB Sii Radeon 9250 Catweasel MKIII NEC USB2 OS 4.1FE Update 1
   Report Go to top

Re: Help me print, please (postscript printer)
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 345
@Paul

Can you ping your printer from the Amiga?
Maybe you can reach the printer settings using Odyssey (or Timberwolf)
with http://IP_OF_YOUR_PRINTER


I use lpr.device with an old HPL2300n and no problems.

#type ENVARC:lpr.device
HOST=IP_OF_YOUR_PRINTER RAW

And in Printer prefs:
- Printer driver : HP_Laserjet_4
- Port device: lpr.device
- Port unit: 0
- Always init printer: Checked

   Report Go to top

Re: Help me print, please (postscript printer)
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3135
@Paul

It supports IPP too, so you could try my ipp.device.

It's not entirely compatible with modern IPP but might work for you.

http://www.unsatisfactorysoftware.co.uk/download.php?file=ipp_dev

Also make sure you have all the protocols you are using enabled in the web interface, otherwise nothing you do on the Amiga side will work.

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project