Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
79 user(s) are online (58 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 79

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 ... 4 5 6 (7) 8 9 10 ... 13 »


Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 1862
@xenic
Quote:

You could also add the Enhancer wave and mpega (assuming thats the datatype playing MP3 sound files). I was considering changing the USBSound code to calculate the sound play time from the SDTA_SamplesPerSec and SDTA_SampleLength attributes but the Enhancer wave and mpega datatypes return 0 for the sample length.


I'm not sure about this, mpega at least might be a streaming subclass I think I'll just email Kevin and ask him to look at this thread ...

Quote:

Also both the Enhancer and OS4FE sound.datatype return incorrect SDTA_SamplesPerSec, SDTA_BitsPerSample & SDTA_SampleLength for CDDA sounds files ripped from a music CD. They return 8 bit samples at 22050 samplerate and questionable sample length. You can include that it a bug report to AmigaKit and the OS4.1 bugzilla.


You have to set the sample size to 16 or 32 (or 24 or float with the new aeon one) or else the samples are always converted to 8bit, for compatabilty I suppose, at least that's how I read the autodoc.

I could also be down to the cdda subclass, especially if it's old.







_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1242
@broadblues
Quote:
You have to set the sample size to 16 or 32 (or 24 or float with the new aeon one) or else the samples are always converted to 8bit, for compatabilty I suppose, at least that's how I read the autodoc.

My reading of the autodoc states that for cases where AHI is unavailable.

Hopefully, the issues I've pointed out will be fixed (especially SDTA_ReplayPeriod).

Thanks for helping and looking into this.

_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/4 21:53
From www.amigakit.com
Posts: 428
@xenic

Our sound guru, Kevin has quickly fixed this (thanks Kevin!). Would you like a binary to verify ?

   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1242
@amigakit
Quote:
Our sound guru, Kevin has quickly fixed this (thanks Kevin!). Would you like a binary to verify ?


Certainly. I'll PM you with an email address. Thanks for the quick response. I'm sure everyone using Enhancer will appreciate it too.

EDIT: PM sent.

_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 1862
@amigakit

Unless Kevin made another update since I emailed him last night (and it was quite late at that point) in response to the first fix, then only the first of thr two issues is fixed at this point.

I'm sure the second fix wil be just as quick, but just flagging it up to avoid confusuion.

_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1242
@broadblues
I PM'd Amigakit but didn't get a binary. However, you know what the problems are and can test an updated sound.datatype before it's release.

_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/4 21:53
From www.amigakit.com
Posts: 428
@xenic

New Sound DTC 53.29r sent your email box

Please let me know when you receive by return email.

_________________
amigakit.com - the Amiga store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | Enhancer Software
   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1242
@amigakit

I just received your email and replied. The new (fixed) datatypes fix the problem with external sound files in my USBSound porgram. The 8svx and WAV datatypes now return fairly accurate time, samplesize & sample length. The mpega datatype is now returning the same attributes accurately for MP3 files but that may depend on the accuracy of the MP3 file header.

The time for CDDA files seems accurate but both the new Enhancer sound. datatype AND the OS4.1FEu1 sound.datatype show exactly half the samplesize and samplerate with questionable sample length. That may be because (as the autodoc states) CDDA sounds are converted to 8 bit samples at half the samplerate if AHI is unavailable. That may have likely been the case for OS3 but AHI will always be used in OS4 so it wouldn't hurt to change an OS4 sound.datatype to return the correct attributes (16 bit at 44,100 sample rate (freq)).

I'm happy with the fixed datypes and other programmers & users will probably be happy too.

Thanks for the quick turnaround on my bug report.



_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/4 21:53
From www.amigakit.com
Posts: 428
Thats great news! Thanks for testing.

_________________
amigakit.com - the Amiga store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | Enhancer Software
   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 1862
@xenic

The CDDA datatype is quite ancient, much like the FLAC datatype I discussed in a related email, therefore they probably downsample to 8 bits when decoding the file.

Only sound datatype sub classes since 2011 are likely to be aware of the 16/32 sample size support in sound.datatype, and only the a-eon ones are likely to support the new 24/float sample size options.

_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2868
@broadblues

Can i get a confirmation or rejection on my MultiEdit bug, please?

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1242
@broadblues
Quote:
The CDDA datatype is quite ancient, much like the FLAC datatype I discussed in a related email, therefore they probably downsample to 8 bits when decoding the file.

Only sound datatype sub classes since 2011 are likely to be aware of the 16/32 sample size support in sound.datatype, and only the a-eon ones are likely to support the new 24/float sample size options.


Actually, I think CDDA music files are being played by the aiff.datatype and it's probably that datatype that needs to be updated by A-EON or the OS4 devs in order to have it play 16 bit sound and report 16 bit attributes.

I'm suggesting that aiff.datatype be updated. If Kevin has the skills to create the mpega.datatype and an updated WAV datatype, I'm assuming he could create an updated aiff.datatype for the next Enhancer release

_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2868
@xenic

Thank you for taking care of my bug report

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2634
@broadblues

AHI does not support float/doubles, so well...
you might add support to datatypes but it will need to be converted back to 16bit before playback.

CDDA is 16bit stereo 44100 bytes per sec.

But it seams that float / double format is becomes more common now days, I guess its because its easier to mix, with out degrading quality.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/10/18 10:25
From Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 47
Since I installed the update to the Enhancer package, I have completely lost Ringhio notifications. No programmes give a notification, and when I run Prefs and click Test, nothing happens.

   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3163
@daveyw

That's exactly the problem I had, and Notification Prefs was crashing too. I ended up reverting to the previous version of both and still had to reset to defaults in prefs before notifications started appearing again.

   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Supreme Council
Joined:
2006/11/16 19:25
From Sweden
Posts: 3094
@Raziel

Quote:

@Forum maintainer

Maybe a new entry in the "Software Support" forum would be possible?



That's really up to the author(s) of the enhancer package. If they want a support forum here then we'll be happy to add one.

_________________
Vacca foeda. Sum, ergo edo

Mr Bobo Cornwater
   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3482
@Chris
Maybe the updated Ringhio will work for you, now that you've reset your preferences? Should be easy to test, as you can extract/copy the new Ringhio Server somewhere, and temporarily have WbStartup run it instead of the original.

@all/amigakit
nubechechorre posted a bug report here:
http://www.amigans.net/modules/xforum ... id=107458#forumpost107458

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3163
@ChrisH

I keep meaning to try it again but haven't got round to it.

   Report Go to top

Re: Enhancer Bug thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/10/18 10:25
From Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 47
@Chris

I figured it out. When I open Notification Prefs, Screen Coverage, Pop-Up Transparency, and Pop-Up time all have a default value of 0. So, no notifications.

I have to move the sliders to select a value. It seems very buggy to have a default value that isn't even selectable. Also, Transparency ranges from 180 % to 255 % ????

A lot of the other values that are selected by default aren't recognised by the programme. For example, the default position according to the GUI is bottom right. If I click Test, the notification is bottom left. If I actually want it bottom right I have to select another value (e.g., Bottom Left) and then re-select bottom right.

So it's a pretty buggy GUI.

Possibly, as ChrisH said, it might work for you now that you've re-set your preferences?

   Report Go to top


« 1 ... 4 5 6 (7) 8 9 10 ... 13 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project