Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
67 user(s) are online (42 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 67

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1788
I've been playing with AmigaForever + AmigaOS 4.1. Mostly good so far, but one thing I haven't managed to figure out is how to share data between Windows & the emulated OS 4.1 system.

Setting up a shared directory gives the warning that it doesn't work with PowerPC. Indeed, the emulated system won't boot; ending with a DOS screen.

Is there a way to set up a shared directory? Or is there an alternative that allows you to freely share files between the host system and OS 4.1?

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/11/21 17:18
Posts: 330
I donnot have a problem there, I am even syncing the (WIN) xchange dir to my X1000 via AmiCloud on the X1000 and the windows side. I used Amikit Flower Pot for installing UAE/OS41. I'll check the settings when I am at home.

   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/11/21 17:18
Posts: 330
o.k. just checked, indeed I am also ending up with a dos screen.
However I set it up to mount Host Operating Systems drives (Windows 10). Works flawless, the only annoyance is all the Windows hardrives listed on Workbench.

AFTER BOOTING UP, I can always choose a shared dir manually (F12 and add dir in UAE Setup).

   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/6/3 12:49
Posts: 169
Hello

Certainly you miss to enable the new "native" interface

ROM/Advanced UAE/New UAE(128k rom,indirect)

but before in your config.uae you must add this line

uaeboard=full+indirect




Also for better performances dont forget to add
uaegfx
uaesnd
composititing

1) Copy the uaegfx from an OS 3 install and place it in DEVS:Monitors on OS 4.1. and select Rtg Board/UAE Z3 on th WinUAE side

2) Expansions/Sound cards/UAESND Z3
and Amiga side Prefs/Ahi/16 bits stereo

3) http://aminet.net/package/gfx/misc/PatchCompositeTags


Alain

   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1788
Thanks guys. However, I'm using AmigaForever which has its own config program.

I don't see an option to mount host drives/partitions. Pressing F12 does NOT bring up a menu to mount another drive, nor do I see any method of mounting a host directory (although I can mount an floppy or CD image, which is pretty useless).

I also don't see any option to directly mess with UAE config files.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/11/21 17:18
Posts: 330
@Hans
I'll do some Screenshots tonight. However, I am using WinUAE, Amiga ROMs etc from AmigaForever. When running emulation in window mode I can always bring up the WinUAE settings dialouge through pressing F12.
However I'll retest tonight, an will post some Screenshots, so just a little more patiance

   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/11/21 17:18
Posts: 330
O.k. if you press F12 make sure, your WinUAE Window is selected. My Windows HD Partition (624GB NTFS) is called "DATA-1 (E:)" on Windows, which appears as "DATA-1" on the AOS4 side. See screenshot for details:

http://www.indiego.rocks/file/downloa ... 1ed7e409598ea6da25dda051f

hope that helps?

   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1788
@gerograph
Quote:
O.k. if you press F12 make sure, your WinUAE Window is selected.

Yes, I've tried it with the WinUAE window selected, both with and without mouse capture.

Bear in mind the emulation was started from AmigaForever (so using an RP9 config file). It sounds like you're bypassing AmigaForever and using WinUAE directly.

Guess I'll have to try creating a WinUAE config. Does AmigaForever have a way to export WinUAE config files?

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
1/3 6:03
From Atlanta GA
Posts: 11
@Han
Before you launch from Amiga Forever look at the options under the menu Tools. Scroll through list and enable F12 for Runtime Options. Launch the session from Amiga Forever than you can hit F12 and save a config file in WinUAE.

Hope this helps
Doug

   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3341
@Hans Quote:
Or is there an alternative that allows you to freely share files between the host system and OS 4.1?

If the emulated AmigaOS 4.1 can access the internet (and your home network), then why not use use FTP Mount on the Amiga side, and FileZilla (FTP) Server on the Windows side?

This works pretty well between a real AmigaOS 4.1 machine & a Windows 7/10 machine, so ought to work well on an emulated Amiga too.

If you find that accessing files on the Amiga side is too slow for your use case, and you only need to 'send' files to the Windows side occasionally, then you could try my FolderSync2 program (each "sync" requires running FolderSCAN2 on the Windows side (in Scan mode), then FolderSync2 on the Amiga side, and then finally FolderSCAN2 again on the Windows side (in Update mode)).

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1788
@DStatny
Thanks. I now get the runtime options menu with F12.

However, unlike gerograph, adding a shared directory after boot does nothing, and enabling the add PC drives option causes the emulation to fail to boot. I'm not sure what else is different on gerograph's setup, but there has to be something because I'm getting different results.

I've also tried updating WinUAE, and that makes no difference. In fact, I lose the F12 options menu despite it being enabled in Amiga Forever. Finally, the generated config file won't work with the latest version of WinUAE.

Guess I'll have to try network based methods next.

EDIT: Might try AmiKit's Flower Pot instead, as suggested over on AW.net.

Hans


Edited by Hans on 2017/4/8 9:51:13
_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 11:31
From Russia
Posts: 4124
@Hans
To make everythng ok, you just need to download latest winuae, latest ppc plugins, and install everything from scratch. For me sharing works fine : i have enabled add PC drives option and it works.

I can share my config if you need it.

Quote:

EDIT: Might try AmiKit's Flower Pot instead, as suggested over on AW.net.


All those "ready to use" packages always will have flaws and will hide for you abilities to make all custom things ok. Better to just grab what is underthehood (winuae) and install everythning from scratch without all that 3dparty addons.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1788
@all

After a few emails back and forth with Cloanto, the problem is solved. So shaderd directories will work under AmigaOS 4.1 in a future version of Amiga Forever.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/5/1 17:57
From Czech Republic
Posts: 895
@Hans

So what's the recommended stop-gap solution for now, according to your e-mail exchange with Cloanto? I'm wondering because I've run into the same problem. Sharing PC drives or directories just doesn't seem to work in the Amiga Forever PPC emu.


Edited by trixie on 2017/4/17 14:04:05
_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1788
@trixie

I'm not entirely sure what to recommend as stopgap. The last thing I had to do was to set the shared directory's boot priority to -128. Maybe that'll work, but I suspect you still need an updated WinUAE.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3341
@trixie
Has anyone tried FTP Mount + Filezilla FTP Server?

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1788
@ChrisH

Quote:
Has anyone tried FTP Mount + Filezilla FTP Server?

Haven't tried it, but it sounds like it should work. What IP address would you use for the host machine, though?

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/26 17:45
Posts: 262
FTPMount is not completely stable and it lacks some features needed to be a fully functional drive. You can copy files forth and back but if you try for example to pack or unpack an LHA archive which is stored on the FTP share, it will fail sooner or later. You have to copy it to the Amiga before you unpack it or you have to create it on the Amiga and then copy it to the FTP share.

The IP address to use is the one of the host machine. There is only one. Check ipconfig output.

The best solution still is an external NAS box which can be accessed from AmigaOS and Windows.

The previous version of SMBFS works completely stable with Unix or BSD based operating systems.

The latest version works with Windows but is unstable.

   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3341
@Hans Quote:
What IP address would you use for the host machine, though?

Not sure, depends on how it shares the network, maybe "localhost"? i.e. "127.0.0.1" ?

@thomas Quote:
FTPMount is not completely stable

FTPMount works stably for my needs on OS4, particularly when used with the Filezilla FTP Server. I would assume the 68k version is the same...

Quote:
You can copy files forth and back

Sounds like we have a winner

Quote:
You have to copy it to the Amiga before you unpack it or you have to create it on the Amiga and then copy it to the FTP share.

If your usage case requires doing these work-arounds a lot, using FolderSync2 to do it might be less hassle.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: Sharing data with host system with Amiga Forever & AmigaOS 4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/2/8 14:30
From Cologne * Germany
Posts: 93
@Hans
Quote:

Original by Hans:

I've been playing with AmigaForever + AmigaOS 4.1. Mostly good so far, but one thing I haven't managed to figure out is how to share data between Windows & the emulated OS 4.1 system.



Which AmigaForever version do you use?
I am just in the process of setting up a new Amiga environment on my Win10/core i5 quadcore/64 Bit machine with AmigaForever 2016. I want to run OS 4.1 with it, but still have problems to install OS4.

And the "AmigaExplorer" does not work for you?

When I had my old AmigaForever 2006 running on my old XP machine, "AmigaExplorer" (part of the AmigaForever package) was the way to exchange files between the two systems...

Currently I have not reached a state where I could try the "AmigaExplorer" of AF 2016 with OS 4.x ...

Another way to exchange files between a WinXP-box and a real Amiga4000PPC was a combination of a registered version of Darren Eveland's 'RDesktop' and 'smbfs' - worked like a charm.

But I never tried the latter with AmigaForever...

_________________
Ciao,
Dandy
-----------------------------------------------------------
If someone enjoys marching to military music, then I already despise him.
He got his brain accidently - the bone marrow in his back would have been sufficient for him!
(...
   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project