Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
66 user(s) are online (47 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 65

broadblues, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 »


Re: Qt beta
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/11/21 2:30
From Israel
Posts: 104
Screengrab reacts better after lowering the font to 14.

Qpdfview now gives me the following message: unexpected tz val

Changing what you call native/non-native doesn't effect any Qt app I try as far as making it work better or worse. I thought disabling boopsi made some impact on screengrab but it was the smaller font.

* edit: now when I think about it the rendering of fonts regarding the Qpdfview distortion of fonts (kerning?) might be the answer - does it use a certain shared object library version? beacuse those have changed here and some I have put there myself (and softlinked) from various dev archives.


Edited by Srtest on 2016/11/3 10:49:29
   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/10/7 0:11
From Copenhagen
Posts: 1171
@Srtest

'Native' or BOOPSI menus only affect applications, that have menus. Obviously. The difference should be glaring.

I have only one version of the various shared objects. I have checked against the ones included with OS4.1 Final Edition, and have updated where necessary. What exactly are the shared objects, that you might have a different version of??

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/11/21 2:30
From Israel
Posts: 104
@alfkil

What I meant was regarding an affect on stuff that kinda lag or maybe are not working with an OS4 flow (the way a button "feels") so to speak or that have been reported here. Of course changing those settings have a visual and sometimes functional affect but I'm not always sure about better or worse. If it works well after all then I'll take it.

Well I updated for several files mosty about graphics and text (I'm pretty sure libpng has a positive affect on my system) - I added a pic of my shared object libs, as well as a dsi crashlog I'm getting from qcodeedit.

https://s21.postimg.org/w4nc91io7/screen8.png

http://s000.tinyupload.com/download.p ... 7312645038255321591396536

edit: 2 more crashlogs from the game Qsolocards

http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=81234259613121351608

http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=78328471661717993970

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/8/25 11:29
From UK
Posts: 4
@alfkil

Excellent work as always.

If you want to put Qt to the test maybe a port of the NEW Open Source Paint program that is getting a lot of excitement from artists on other platforms - Krita.

Krita aims to be a Photoshop killer application.

https://krita.org/en/item/krita-3-0-released

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/11/21 2:30
From Israel
Posts: 104
An update: after doing said experimentation with the prefs I now can't see anything amiga related with Juffed.

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/10/7 0:11
From Copenhagen
Posts: 1171
@Srtest

Quote:
An update: after doing said experimentation with the prefs I now can't see anything amiga related with Juffed.


This sentence does not make any sense. I am completely unaware if this means, that the application does not start, if there is a problem loading 'amiga files' (whatever that would be) or if it is just a subjective statement, that the application 'does not look very amiga' any more.

Please be specific, when commenting on functional aspects of applications. So far, I have nothing that shows me how to solve your problem.

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/11/21 2:30
From Israel
Posts: 104
@alfkil

Of course.

I'm adding a pic which shows: can't open any text file, can't browse.

I get the following bubble messages.

https://s12.postimg.org/3ng4l1x31/screen9.png


   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/10/7 0:11
From Copenhagen
Posts: 1171
@Srtest

Ok, strange.

First: What did you do to make it try and open volume "Stuff" as a file??

Second: Did you change your filesystem, so the files "latestmonkey.txt" and "newfile.txt" should be unrecognizable?? I am thinking, renaming of volumes or folders, or moving the files somewhere else than they were originally created.

Third: The fontconfig error is also strange. Did you do as I suggested, namely try and erase the fontconfig cache files from sys:fonts/ ??

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 2952
@alfkil

Probably i have found a way to lead SMTube to crash at startup, trying to launch two sessions simultanely ..

This is the error:

Quote:
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::bad_alloc'
what(): std::bad_alloc


Then it crash:

Quote:
Crash log for task "smtube"
Generated by GrimReaper 53.19
Crash occured in module kernel at address 0x01810EA0
Type of crash: unknown exception
Alert number: 0x81000009

Register dump:
GPR (General Purpose Registers):
0: 01817AA0 45071BE0 00000000 01810EB8 44C14340 021BA870 021BA860 021BA8D0
8: 00000001 00000000 00000001 80000017 0000015C 481B61B0 00000000 5483E680
16: 69DDFBE0 00000001 00000000 00340014 02280000 02280000 14C95688 00000000
24: 5374A1C2 00000000 45071BD0 00000001 021CDCC2 44C14340 020B9CE4 00000001


FPR (Floating Point Registers, NaN = Not a Number):
0: 1 88 317 29
4: 0 610.8 27.8 29
8: 0 18 610.8 27.8
12: 670 345 0 -5.05923e-321
16: 0 1.39067e-309 0 0
20: 0 0 0 1.61895e-319
24: 4.94066e-324 0 1.08752e-311 -1.28745e+36
28: 0 1.35808e-312 2.07226e-317 -0.25

FPSCR (Floating Point Status and Control Register): 0xA2004100


SPRs (Special Purpose Registers):
Machine State (msr) : 0x0002B030
Condition (cr) : 0x4834ED80
Instruction Pointer (ip) : 0x01810EA0
Xtended Exception (xer) : 0x018193D0
Count (ctr) : 0x4834F0F8
Link (lr) : 0x0002000E
DSI Status (dsisr) : 0x47C3D5AC
Data Address (dar) : 0x4834F0F8



680x0 emulated registers:
DATA: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
ADDR: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
FPU0: 0 0 0 0
FPU4: 0 0 0 0



Symbol info:
Instruction pointer 0x01810EA0 belongs to module "kernel" (HUNK/Kickstart)

Stack trace:
native kernel module kernel+0x00010ea0
native kernel module kernel+0x000179c0
native kernel module newlib.library.kmod+0x00011f2c
native kernel module newlib.library.kmod+0x00006644
_Z5qFreePv()+0x2c (section 10 @ 0x3A318)
_ZN7QString4freeEPNS_4DataE()+0x6c (section 10 @ 0xDBBF4)
_Z41__static_initialization_and_destruction_0ii()+0x1b4 (section 10 @ 0x255F0)
_GLOBAL__D__ZN19QApplicationPrivate19app_compile_versionE()+0x38 (section 10 @ 0x25630)
__shlib_call_destructors()+0x3c (section 10 @ 0xC4)
native kernel module elf.library.kmod+0x00007f44
native kernel module newlib.library.kmod+0x00001fa0
native kernel module newlib.library.kmod+0x00002d5c
native kernel module newlib.library.kmod+0x00002ef0
_start()+0x170 (section 10 @ 0x16C)
native kernel module dos.library.kmod+0x00024c18
native kernel module kernel+0x0003b648
native kernel module kernel+0x0003b6c8

PPC disassembly:
01810e98: 60630eb8 ori r3,r3,3768
01810e9c: 44000002 sc
*01810ea0: 4e800020 blr
01810ea4: 7c641b78 mr r4,r3
01810ea8: 3c600181 lis r3,385

System information:

CPU
Model: AMCC PPC440EP V1.3
CPU speed: 799 MHz
FSB speed: 133 MHz
Extensions:

Machine
Machine name: Sam440EP
Memory: 1048576 KB
Extensions: bus.pci


   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/10/7 0:11
From Copenhagen
Posts: 1171
@samo79

Damnit... I know that crash, and I was sure, I had it fixed. Are you sure, that you are using the latest Qt??

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/11/21 2:30
From Israel
Posts: 104
@Srtest

@alfkil

[First: What did you do to make it try and open volume "Stuff" as a file??]

Well, nothing. File browser treats AmigaOS SFS+FFS Volumes as files after I played with the Qt settings (only ticking/unticking mixed with font changes which is now DejaVu Sans 14 and prefs returned to everything native). It also doesn't matter whether I open new text or old the behaviour stays the same.

[Second: Did you change your filesystem, so the files "latestmonkey.txt" and "newfile.txt" should be unrecognizable??]

Everything can be reproduced disregarding those conditions.

[Third: The fontconfig error is also strange. Did you do as I suggested, namely try and erase the fontconfig cache files from sys:fonts/ ??]

I did so after your second suggestion unfortunately it has no effect here.

Maybe next step should be deleting Juffed and opening a new one.

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/10/7 0:11
From Copenhagen
Posts: 1171
@Srtest

Well, unless I am able to reproduce the said conditions, I am probably not going to be able to fix them.

So a step by step guide on how you managed to get those outputs would be fitting. ;)

EDIT: The fontconfig error you are seeing is actually from fontconfig and has nothing to do with Qt. So there is a setup issue there on your system. Try deleting SYS:Fonts/fontconfig/fonts.conf and see, if that solves the issue.


Edited by alfkil on 2016/11/14 13:41:33
   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/11/21 2:30
From Israel
Posts: 104
@alfkil

Suddenly and with intent (or knowledge or any of that stuff...) I now have a theory!

I have mounted an Ext3 partition using a 3rd party driver. Juffed when clicked on the mounted partition opens instead (at last...) the mount command saved to a text file opened by mount which is loaded at start-up. The other drives it opens as empty text files/tabs - the same as if I pointed it to a specific text file (without using the built-in broswer).

Another behaviour is when I try to go back from the /qt/home it says "QFileSystemWatcher::addPath: path is empty".

I'm adding 2 pics.

https://s13.postimg.org/cp1359uev/screen11.png

https://s22.postimg.org/6vvwg811t/screen12.png

Edit:

But what will happen globally if I delete the font configuration file? Could the utility Eastern have something to do with it as it fails to convert the fonts to images and crashes (turned it off without effect on the issues).


Edited by Srtest on 2016/11/14 14:11:36
Edited by Srtest on 2016/11/14 14:14:34
Edited by Srtest on 2016/11/14 14:21:56
Edited by Srtest on 2016/11/14 14:23:47
Edited by Srtest on 2016/11/14 14:24:23
   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1430
@alfkil
"Damnit... I know that crash, and I was sure, I had it fixed. Are you sure, that you are using the latest Qt??"

Still using the *old* Qt, I'm able to start at least 3 instances of SMTube without crash.


   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/10/7 0:11
From Copenhagen
Posts: 1171
@all

Guys... I deeply appologize. I have solved the puzzle... sort of...

It is a configuration issue, that gives problems with compatibility with certain apps built under a different configuration. For the moment, I have given up finding the way back to the starting point; it is simply too complicated.

I will puff out a fresh release of Qt with nothing added except for a fixed configuration. I will do a fair amount of testing beforehand, so it will take a little while. When that is done, I suggest, that all Qt apps - in use - are rebuilt against an updated set of includes and updated libraries. This is the only way of ensuring, that the problem goes away.

Sorry, I was a little too adventurous in the last release. Hope we can fix it this way.

@Srtest

Of course, this does not solve the issue with the fontconfig error. I am not sure, if this could be related to a custom file system. Perhaps. Also the text rendering flubber in qpdfview is probably not affected by this fix.


Edited by alfkil on 2016/11/16 21:45:07
   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3101
@alfkil

Quote:
Also the text rendering flubber in qpdfview is probably not affected by this fix.


I assume the menu weirdness might be though?

I hadn't got around to re-building it anyway, so I'll hold off for now.

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/10/7 0:11
From Copenhagen
Posts: 1171
@Chris

I don't think the weird menu behavior is related.

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/11/21 2:30
From Israel
Posts: 104
@alfkil

No need to apologize. Thank you for your work not only in listening to the users and being open about their way of doing stuff and their daily uses but also trying to accomplish a working stage considering different set-ups.

As for me if I'm able to add a percent to your 99 then I'm happy about it. Juffed became disfunctional after ticking/unticking the Qt options. Deleting + opening a new drawer fixed it and now it is working again so maybe that's another hint as far as the effect of changing Qt setting or maybe the Qt prefs app in itself or whatever - as long as it works.

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/3/10 10:51
From Germany
Posts: 600
@alfkil

Quote:
I deeply appologize. ... Sorry, I was a little too adventurous in the last release.


No need to apologize! I am very happy and thankfull to accompany you in this adventure...

_________________
X1000|II/G4|440ep|2000/060|2000/040|1000
   Report Go to top

Re: Qt beta
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/10/7 0:11
From Copenhagen
Posts: 1171
I have a fresh version of Qt, JuffEd and a very broken version of Vacuum up for testing. Who is in??!

   Report Go to top


« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project