Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
48 user(s) are online (39 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 48

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



(1) 2 »


ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/7/16 17:57
From Istanbul
Posts: 90
Hi all

When I try to run Myst III Exile..I got following error:
(Same data files work with Windows port of Residual)

WARNING: GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two is not available.

Do we need this fix applied to OS4 port ?

https://github.com/residualvm/residual ... ines/myst3/gfx_opengl.cpp

_________________
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
- AmigaOne X5000
- AmigaOne A1222
- Sam460ex
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2188
@SinanSam460

That's a warning, not an error. So in theory it should still run. Of course, there may be other problems that prevent it from working.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/2/15 11:05
Posts: 97
@SinanSam460

Turn the gfx render to SW. I think some cards lack these features.
I have a Radeon 9250, and it`s unplayable with sw rendering (Sam440@800).Maybe another version that is more compatible with older cards?

   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3454
@Cass

Only SW rendering is "supported".

Reasons;

1) I'm no coder, so i couldn't for the life of me change anything about it
2) I don't have a 3D capable card, so again, in no way, could i do anything about it
3) I'm looking for someone to take over caring and developing (AmigaOS4 specific) ResidualVM
(The codebase is nice and shiny and should build out of the box - it's the 3D stuff that scares me - once available i wouldn't know what to do to support it)

Right now, if i run into problems, i bug the residualvm devs to fix it...for now this works

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr.
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2188
@Cass

Quote:
Turn the gfx render to SW. I think some cards lack these features.

Warp3D doesn't support non-power-of-two textures, so it's not necessarily the hardware.

@SinanSam460 and Cass
What happens when you switch to HW accelerated rendering mode? Does it simply fail? Or do you see something?

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2188
@Raziel

Quote:
(The codebase is nice and shiny and should build out of the box - it's the 3D stuff that scares me - once available i wouldn't know what to do to support it)

I'm afraid not. I thought that I'd have a quick go at building it, but the configure script failed after claiming that no C++ compiler could be found. My AmigaOS machines all have the SDK installed, so there most certainly is a C++ compiler installed.

I also briefly tried Myst III myself, and it looks like the textures are failing to load. At least, Warp3D never receives any texture data.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2188
@Hans

Okay, some good news and some not so good news:
First, the reason that it didn't work is due to an unsupported texture format:
internalFormat = GL_RGBA;
sourceFormat = GL_UNSIGNED_INT_8_8_8_8_REV;
That'll be fixed in the next version of MiniGL.

Unfortunately, playback of the video sequences is rather stuttery (tested on an A1-X1000), including the audio. So, that's something that needs to be worked on.

A quick scan of the code suggests that it uses the bink video format. Does the bink decoder make use of altivec at all? Maybe there's room for improvement there.

Either way, it would help if the code could at least keep the audio smooth even if the video is playing back at a lower frame-rate (i.e., frameskipping would help).

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3454
@Hans

What compiler line did you use to test?

I have the SDK installed with no further changes (i think) and a simple ./configure under the bash shell (or was it abc shell?) does what it should do

edit: wrong, i obviously have the following two files in ENVARC

CPPFLAGS
with this
-I/sdk/local/common/include/freetype2 -I/sdk/local/common/include/SDL

and

path
with this
/GCC/bin:/SDK/C:/SDK/local/c:/SDK/local/newlib/bin:/cmake/bin/

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr.
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3140
@Hans

I know it's a little OT but.. if you are the current mantainer of MiniGL can you add also this little patch on trunk ?

http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=2162

   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2188
@samo79

Quote:
I know it's a little OT but.. if you are the current mantainer of MiniGL can you add also this little patch on trunk ?

http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=2162

AFAIK, that patch has been in there for a while now. No, not in the trunk, but in the current branch.

I'm not going to add small patches to the trunk. At some point, karlos' branch will be merged back to the trunk. In the meantime, you're welcome to checkout the branch.

@Raziel
Quote:

What compiler line did you use to test?

I have the SDK installed with no further changes (i think) and a simple ./configure under the bash shell (or was it abc shell?) does what it should do

edit: wrong, i obviously have the following two files in ENVARC

CPPFLAGS
with this
-I/sdk/local/common/include/freetype2 -I/sdk/local/common/include/SDL

and

path
with this
/GCC/bin:/SDK/C:/SDK/local/c:/SDK/local/newlib/bin:/cmake/bin/

I simply did a ./configure in the bash shell. Other configure scripts can detect the C++ compiler just fine without needing ENV vars, so the configure script really should be fixed.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3140
@Hans

Sorry of course i meant the branches not the main trunk .. i can't verify myself but according to the changelog (http://www.hyperion-entertainment.biz ... ranches/updates-kc/README) the patch i mentioned doesn't seems to be included ... that's why i ask if you can commit it or atleast if you can verify if it was included or not

   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2188
@samo79

If you don't believe me, then why don't you do a quick search through the MiniGL code for "GL_UNSIGNED_INT_8_8_8_8_REV" and "unpack_argb_b". You should be able to confirm quickly enough whether Spirantho's patch is included.

Hans


P.S., Readme files rarely list every single patch, fix or other change that has been made

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3140
@Hans

I trusted you, only i wanted to be sure if the patch was implemented or just forget, didn't know where to check .. but i found a reference of that "GL_UNSIGNED_INT" in pack.c so i presume it is implemented now

Aniway do you know when the new MiniGL will be officially released ?

   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2188
@Raziel
Getting back to the topic of Myst III, I'm now pretty certain that the stuttery audio is residualVM's own fault. I ran a test where I disabled glTexSubImage2D(), thereby completely eliminating the overhead of uploading the video frames to VRAM for display. The stuttering remained.

ResidualVM uses SDL for audio, right? Well, that could be part of the problem. Here are three reasons why I think this:
1) ResidualVM's own FAQ mentions possible stuttering on Windows, with an SDL workaround (link).

2) When I tried the WIP Homeworld port (also SDL based), disabling the AHI driver caused Homeworld's framerate to jump from 2 to 20 fps on my system. That's a pretty extreme change.

3) Quote from Spirantho on aw.net
Quote:
The real problem I have with MAME is a lack of time to dedicate to it..... the sound stutters badly on SDLMAME quite often and I really want to fix that before doing a proper release again.


Now, the above doesn't guarantee that SDL's audio is the cause, but it does indicate that SDL audio may be problematic.

Of course, I still think that it would be worth looking at optimising the bink video decoder, including using altivec. The CPU usage remains unchanged even with glTexSubImage2D() disabled when video clips are playing (it's clamped at ~90% in both cases). I think that the video decoder could do better than that; the resolution isn't that high.

Hans


P.S., I randomly get the game failing on startup with an assertion failure at line 679 of engines/myst3/state.cpp. This suggests that there's an uninitialised variable bug somewhere (other OSes zero newly allocated memory, which makes it easy for such bugs to remain hidden).

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/10/28 19:36
From france
Posts: 1
For me the "assertion failure at line 679 of engines/myst3/state.cpp" error is a CD insertion/detection bug i'm have the same error if i'm forget to insert the CD-1

   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2188
@FabienJ

Quote:
For me the "assertion failure at line 679 of engines/myst3/state.cpp" error is a CD insertion/detection bug i'm have the same error if i'm forget to insert the CD-1

I never have the CD/DVD inserted (NOTE: I have the DVD version).

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/7/16 17:57
From Istanbul
Posts: 90
Does myst iii start on your setups..?

It stops with a biank screen (warp3d or software renderıng does not matter)

Data fıles are ok since it runs with wimdows version of residualvm

_________________
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
- AmigaOne X5000
- AmigaOne A1222
- Sam460ex
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2188
@SinanSam460

Quote:
Does myst iii start on your setups..?

Yes, unless I get that assertion failure printed in the console window.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3454
@Hans

Nice that so many people are interested in residualvm

the fact remains that i can't code and can't do anything about it unfortunately...not even fixing configure

The assertion is a known bug and can be blamed to the menu of myst iii being used as zip-destination (which shouldn't happen) ... i'm just parroting the residualvm devs here, don't be fooled

A fix is in place already iirc (if you download the latest daily build it should be gone), but that doesn't fix all the other drawbacks and bugs, mind you

I know you haven't got the time and i wouldn't ask you to, i'm happy that you took the time to look at the code at all


I'd be happy to find one that will start caring and maintaining residualvm though...as said, once 3D kicks in it will fall behind very quickly, because i'm not capable of maintaining it myself

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr.
   Report Go to top

Re: ResidualVM and Myst 3 Exile
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/7/16 17:57
From Istanbul
Posts: 90
@Raziel

>A fix is in place already iirc (if you download the latest >daily build it should be gone), but that doesn't fix all >the other drawbacks and bugs, mind you

I tried 24th of March daily build, and I couldn't run Myst III

I will try 26th of March daily build, I hope that update fixes it.

On the other hand, I am trying to run Monkey Island 4 with ResidualVM. After credits screen in the beginning of the game, it stalls with a blank white screen..

Anybody tried Monkey 4 with ResidualVM ?

Thanks.

_________________
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
- AmigaOne X5000
- AmigaOne A1222
- Sam460ex
   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project