Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
45 user(s) are online (35 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 45

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



(1) 2 »


lpr and OS4.1
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 17:18
From West Jordan, Utah, USA
Posts: 368
I've got an Epson Workforce 310 scanner/fax/printer connected to my network which I'd like to use with my X1000. I've set up the lpr.device following the docs exactly, but when I try to print something out all I get is a lot of activity and blank sheets of paper. If I try 'Echo >PRT: "Hello world!"' it appears to print one line and stops, but the paper's still blank. Any clues?


_________________
Valiant@Camelot
AmigaOne XE, 800Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u7
Sam440ep, 666Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u6
A1-X1000, 1.8Ghz, 2GB, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1x

[url=http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz]Officia
   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3127
lpr.device stopped working for me on one of the updates. I'm now forced to use netprinter (I say "forced", it's actually really good albeit 68k - I can print to my printer using that, yet I've not been able to get Ubuntu 12.04 to do the same)

   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/2 0:35
From Sydney
Posts: 647
Which printer driver have you selected?

_________________
cheers
tony
   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 17:18
From West Jordan, Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Quote:

Chris wrote:
lpr.device stopped working for me on one of the updates. I'm now forced to use netprinter (I say "forced", it's actually really good albeit 68k - I can print to my printer using that, yet I've not been able to get Ubuntu 12.04 to do the same)


hmm, so is anyone else still able to use lpr with the latest updates?

It took me a little bit of messing around with the settings, but I was finally able to get my Ubuntu 12.04 installation to recognize the printer.

_________________
Valiant@Camelot
AmigaOne XE, 800Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u7
Sam440ep, 666Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u6
A1-X1000, 1.8Ghz, 2GB, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1x

[url=http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz]Officia
   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/29 1:00
Posts: 425
I'm using the lpr.device with the latest update, together with the PostScript printer driver, and the following settings in the lpr.device file (in ENV): HOST 192.168.1.136 RAW

   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 17:18
From West Jordan, Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Quote:

tonyw wrote:
Which printer driver have you selected?


Postscript. I've tried others on the X1000, but Postscript used to work fine on my A1-XE.


_________________
Valiant@Camelot
AmigaOne XE, 800Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u7
Sam440ep, 666Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u6
A1-X1000, 1.8Ghz, 2GB, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1x

[url=http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz]Officia
   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/29 6:42
From Geneva CH
Posts: 220
I use it with the latest updates and the photosmart driver, no problems...

   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1011
Quote:
PEB wrote:
I'm using the lpr.device with the latest update, together with the PostScript printer driver, and the following settings in the lpr.device file (in ENV): HOST 192.168.1.136 RAW
Exactly the same here (with another IP address, though). We have an HP Color LaserJet CP 3525n.

Best regards,

Niels


   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/8/25 9:27
From Southampton, UK
Posts: 34
I had a go at getting my printer working but gave up. It's a HP LJ with postscript hanging off my fileserver, which in turn is on the LAN via CUPS.... IF anyone's got something like that working I'd be interested to hear how.

Lawrence

   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2827
Quote:

Aslak3 wrote:
I had a go at getting my printer working but gave up. It's a HP LJ with postscript hanging off my fileserver, which in turn is on the LAN via CUPS.... IF anyone's got something like that working I'd be interested to hear how.

Lawrence


Update 5, LaserJet 5L and lpr.device here

Printer Prefs

Printer type
Printer driver: "HP_LaserJet_5"
Always init printer: CHECK
Port device: "lpr.device"
Port unit: "0"

Page size & margins
Paper type: "Single"
Paper format: "DIN A4"
Print pitch: "Pica (10 cpi)"
Print spacing: "6 lines per inch"
Paper length (lines): "64"
Left margin (characters): "5"
Right margin (characters): "75"
Density: "5"
Resolution: 600 dpi x 600 dpi

Settings
Print quality: "Letter"
Dithering: "Floyd-Steinberg"
Scaling "Fraction"
Image: "Positive
Aspect: "Horizontal"
Shade: "Grey Scale 1"
Threshold: "7"
Center Picture: CHECK
Smoothing: CHECK
Type: Ignore

Put lpr.device in DEVS:

Create a text file called "lpr.device" in ENVARC: containing
"HOST=192.168.178.2 PORT=9100 RAW"

Of course you have to make sure which the right IP is to send the data to.

The printer is connected with the USB port of my router.

Works like a charm and is in fact easier to install on an Amiga than on a PC

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/8/25 9:27
From Southampton, UK
Posts: 34
Quote:

Raziel wrote:

Update 5, LaserJet 5L and lpr.device here

...

Put lpr.device in DEVS:

Create a text file called "lpr.device" in ENVARC: containing
"HOST=192.168.178.2 PORT=9100 RAW"

Of course you have to make sure which the right IP is to send the data to.

The printer is connected with the USB port of my router.

Works like a charm and is in fact easier to install on an Amiga than on a PC


Thank's for that Raziel! I think the problem is probably on the server. Though the lpq etc commands work on the Linux box, I'm not convinced the port is open on the server. So I think the first thing to do is get the CUPS server to emulate the line printer protocol...

Lawrence

   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2827
Just for the sake of completion.

Update 6 (or some part of it) broke lpr.device.
I get a crash now when trying to print to the network printer

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3127
Quote:

Raziel wrote:
Just for the sake of completion.

Update 6 (or some part of it) broke lpr.device.
I get a crash now when trying to print to the network printer


That's interesting as I was trying to print using netprinter.device the other day, and although plain text worked, graphics didn't even spool. No crash, just eventual time out.

I print from the Amiga so infrequently that it could have broken years ago.

   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/2/24 10:59
From Near Cologne, somewhere in the deep forest
Posts: 147
@Raziel & Chris:

Well, here its still working fine (except for a crash with GraphicPublisher of TurboPrint, but I can ignore it and printout works).

SAM440ep, OS4.1 Update 6 & HP LaserJet 4M/Plus here.

   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2827
@Chris & whose

Typical me...spoke too soon :-/

After some irc talk i found that i had the wrong settings set in Printer Prefs which seems to make the printer send back information about those wrong settings, which in turn makes lpr.device choke and crash due to not being able to do anything with those information...then again, maybe it was something completely different

Anyway, after checking and changing the Printer Prefs settings to the ones my printer spits out on it's test page all is working fine again.

Sorry for the alarm

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/24 14:19
From Georgia, USA. Just north of the Florida border
Posts: 200
I tried something with CUPS a few weeks ago..

I installed my Samsung ML1710(cheap) laser printer as a local USB printer on a Raspberry Pi. I set up CUPS to accept remote print jobs. and I was even able to print from WIndowsXP as a Postscript printer! (The printer is way too dumb for that, but CUPS converts nicely).
Sadly, I was never able to get lpr.device on OS4 to see the print server. The best I could get was sending the job without error, but the printer never moved.

It did seem like a good idea, using a $35 pi board as a CUPS server, so that we could reach it from OS4 as a postscript network printer.

But after a few days of almost working, I gave up.
Maybe next time I'll have more luck.


   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/2/15 11:05
Posts: 82
@LyleHaze

My setup:

-HP1018 connected to Raspberry Pi 2 Model B, running latest raspbian (Jessie, Linux version 4.1.17) and cups v1.7.
-Sam440Flex, OS4.1FE & ppc lpr.device v44.6

devs:lpr.device is set to "HOST=192.168.RaspberryPi_IP RAW PORT=631"

The printer prints received jobs from other LAN computers, except AMIGA. The page is being sent remotely, but never print.
Checking the error_log file, appears to be an ssl error, probably due to the obsolete amigaos implementation, : "Unable to encrypt connection from 192.168.AMIGA_IP - An unexpected TLS packet was received."

I also tried the pp.device with the following error : "Returning IPP client-error-attributes-or-values-not-supported for Print-Job (ipp://192.168.RaspberryPi_IP:631/printers/HP_LaserJet_1018) from 192.168.AMIGA_IP

   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3127
@Cass

Can you print locally? Can you print from a non-Amiga to that shared printer over IPP?

If the answer to both those questions is "yes" then the problem will be at the Amiga side.

Which printer driver are you using on the Amiga? I suggest using the PostScript driver. CUPS *should* be able to translate PCL but I've not tried it (from an Amiga). I know PS works.

Make sure the settings match on both sides. In the PS driver, mode should be "Postscript". I have my paper size set to A4, same as it is in CUPS (and also because that's the paper it takes!):
Quote:
Defaults: job-sheets=none, none media=iso_a4_210x297mm sides=one-sided


(of course I'm referring to the ipp.device here)

I've seen a few references on Google to that error being resolved by installing GhostScript, so maybe that's the answer?

Is there anything immediately above that line in the log?

   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/2/15 11:05
Posts: 82
@Chris

Quote:

Can you print locally? Can you print from a non-Amiga to that shared printer over IPP?

Yes, I have print documents to the USB connected printer locally (browser page print and cups test page).
WinXP & iOS print successfully also (though I don`t know if it`s IPP protocol, or else).

Quote:

Which printer driver are you using on the Amiga?

I use PostScript (File & Generic, being the two other available)

Quote:

Make sure the settings match on both sides. In the PS driver, mode should be "Postscript". I have my paper size set to A4, same as it is in CUPS (and also because that's the paper it takes!):

The moment I select PostScript driver, everything is ghosted. I can only modify Borders,Density,Quality.

Quote:

I've seen a few references on Google to that error being resolved by installing GhostScript, so maybe that's the answer?

Ghostscript v9.06 is installed. The CUPS PPD file for the HP LaserJet 1018 (not a PCL printer) is included in the Foomatic/foo2zjs-z1 driver.

Quote:

Is there anything immediately above that line in the log?

No.

   Report Go to top

Re: lpr and OS4.1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 1788
@Cass
Quote:

The moment I select PostScript driver, everything is ghosted. I can only modify Borders,Density,Quality.


The Postscript printer driver has it's own prefs program. PrinterPS




_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project