Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
37 user(s) are online (30 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 37

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



(1) 2 »


Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3204
Resized Image
Resized Image
Resized Image
Resized Image

Few niggles with gfx mem not being freed, fly mode not working properly and a crash on exit.

   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/6/3 12:49
Posts: 213
Hello

Seems nice but where is the Amiga version ?

Alain

   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/12/2 13:27
From Taranto, Italy
Posts: 914
it is the amiga version that use QT

_________________
i'm really tired...
   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:30
From Finland
Posts: 1585
FWIW a few years ago I did some work on a random fractal landscape generator and renderer using MiniGL:

Resized Image

It had some rendering errors which I didn't manage to fix and the code was rather messy but maybe some day I will write an improved version of it that will actually be somewhat useful.

   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/9/18 14:44
Posts: 106
Yeah, me too.

Resized Image

Resized Image

Resized Image

Resized Image

Resized Image

   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3204
@thellier

That is the Amiga version

SGrab has a bug which prevents it grabbing the borders of Qt windows, which I forgot about when I did the first two screenshots.

There's more info about it here: http://www.bottlenose.demon.co.uk/share/fracplanet/

As I say, flight mode isn't working, which is probably the most interesting bit, so I'll definitely fix that before releasing.

@Wanderer

Wow, that's really impressive!

   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 3136
Thats looks amazing

...and if my eyes still like me i can spot a game character from your game project in there...true?

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/5/28 12:10
Posts: 17
@Chris
Quote:

@Wanderer

Wow, that's really impressive!


Biggest understatement I've seen all week! Absolutely stunning. Hope we see more of this.

Mike

   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/3/11 8:29
From Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 868
Oooo a scenary animator beater? I used to use VistaProV3 more however. Niiiiice.

_________________
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3032
@Wanderer

Looks amazing !
Where is the download link ??.. ahm when it's done i presume

   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/22 17:57
From Italy, Rome
Posts: 591
@wanderer
Shame on you!

You have this so cute software and you still keep it for yourself?

   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/20 17:26
Posts: 259
@wandered

WOW!!

What kind of FPS you have achieved?

Nice base work for some:
-scenery generator
-FPS game
-flight sim
-rally game
-3d scorced tanks / artilery duel
-3d worms
-screensaver
-etc,etc...

What's you plan with the SW?

_________________
- Kimmo
--------------------------PowerPC-Advantage------------------------
"PowerPC Operating Systems can use a microkernel architecture with all it�s advantages yet without the cost of slow context switches." - N. Blachford
   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/9/18 14:44
Posts: 106
Wow, I didnt expect such a positive feedback. However, I dont want to hijack this thread, sorry for that.

It's a pseudo-Voxel engine using a heightmap and a 2D texture written in Amiblitz3.
For real Amiga HW, the implementation is too slow. Even on WinUAE, I get only 5-10 FPS in good quality. Such an Engine could be implemented more efficient, but this was my first 3D experiment. It some years old now and I dont have any plans for that (lack of time).

It doesnt have to be pure fractals, upon the fractals you can draw "man-made" elements.

Resized ImageResized Image
Resized ImageResized Image
Resized Image
Resized ImageResized Image
Resized Image
Resized Image



   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/20 17:26
Posts: 259
double WOW!

Shame if your code is not put in good? use.
Perhaps you could open source it?

_________________
- Kimmo
--------------------------PowerPC-Advantage------------------------
"PowerPC Operating Systems can use a microkernel architecture with all it�s advantages yet without the cost of slow context switches." - N. Blachford
   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/28 22:14
From Perugia, ITALY
Posts: 337
@wanderer

absolutely fantastic!
Any plan to release it on AmigaOS4.x? MAybe adding AmigaOS4.x native option for AmiBlitz3? I like very much AmiBlitz3 but was really annoing to cant compile OS4.x exes...

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.
   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3204
@Wanderer

Quote:
However, I dont want to hijack this thread, sorry for that.


No apology required, it is all related so you're not dragging it off-topic. Actually I was looking for something more like your prog when I found fracplanet

   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/1/5 10:14
Posts: 262
@Wanderer

Simply AWESOME!

   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/9/18 14:44
Posts: 106
Such things usually consist of a heightmap (a grayscale image where the brightness corrsponds to the height in the terrain) and a texture on top. The shadows are precomputed based on the heightmap and the sun position.

Resized Image

Put a skye dome at the horizont and some fogging, your done.
The technique is often referred as Raycasting, or 2.5D. This is the very same technique used in many voxel scene demo or in the Doom game serie. Probaly NemacIV as well.

Each vertical line on the screen is a trace through the terrain, starting from the cameras 2D coordinates.

Using Z-Buffering, it is easily possible to place 2D sprites in the terrain (like the game sprite someone spotted in some pics above).

The technique pretty simple and nothing groundbreaking, every skilled programmer can do that in a week or so. The nice look comes from the nice artwork.

I use perlin noise to generate the "fractals".
The "man-made" stuff in painted in ArtEffect.

For the perlin noise, I have written a tool called "PerlinFX". You can generate heightmaps as well as textures.
http://www.hd-rec.de/HD-Rec/index.php?site=contributions

Examples:
Resized Image Resized Image

   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/6/3 12:49
Posts: 213
@chris
>That is the Amiga version
Yes I understood that so my question "Where can i download the Amiga version? as fracplanet is NOT on Aminet nor Os4Depot "

@Wanderer
Your work is awesome
Could you explain how you maded the reflection+shadow effect on the lake ?
Is it "only" the scene drawn flipped + surface maded as a transparent polygon textured with shadow texture

BTW It seems that Amiblitz + StormMesa2010 can works on Warp3D/OS4/PPC

Alain Thellier





   Report Go to top

Re: Fractal planet generator (fracplanet)
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3204
@thellier

Quote:
Yes I understood that so my question "Where can i download the Amiga version? as fracplanet is NOT on Aminet nor Os4Depot "


In that case, the answer is "you can't"

I will release it when I get flight mode working, however if I look into it and decide that it is a Qt bug, I will probably release without flight mode working (which I figure will make it easier to fix in Qt)

edit looks to be a Qt bug - QMouseEvent X position is stuck at 1465188352 permanently.


Edited by Chris on 2012/1/23 11:42:12
   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project