Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
62 user(s) are online (52 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 62

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 ... 3 4 5 (6) 7 »


Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 901
@LiveForIt

Thanks liveforit.

I have a bootdisk which I had hoped to ue to install 7.5.3 from th 19 img files that Apple provides.
I have tried a quadra ROM and Performa ROM. These ROMs worked in Fusion years ago.

Is there a known working boot disk that you can direct me to?

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 409

   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 901
thanks, but I think there is an issue with my system.
When I add a bootdisk or ROm to Basilisk, nothing appears in the file requestor window. Then nothing appears in the Mac Volume window apart from a 0 (zero) in the siaze column.

I tried a new install of Basilisk with no success. I am stumped...

Edit:

Snoopy reports this Fail when I try to add a volume.

Log Generated by; Snoopy 53.32 (14.10.2013)

00001 : ENV/env-handler 52.2 : FAIL = Lock("ENVARC:classes/gadgets/chooser.gadget",SHARED) [32uS]
00002 : BasiliskII : FAIL = GetVar("classes/gadgets/chooser.gadget",0x508A845C,80,0x00000100) [160uS]
00003 : ENV/env-handler 52.2 : FAIL = Lock("ENVARC:classes/gadgets/chooser.gadget",SHARED) [19uS]
00004 : BasiliskII : FAIL = GetVar("classes/gadgets/chooser.gadget",0x508A821C,80,0x00000100) [109uS]

Ranger reports that I have chooser.gadget 53.18 installed in System:Classes/Gadgets/chooser.gadget and I can verify that the file is there.
There is no entry for chooser.gadget at System:Prefs/Env-Archive/Classes/Gadgets
Is this my issue?

I am still stumped.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2733
@ddni

Quote:
When I add a bootdisk or ROm to Basilisk, nothing appears in the file requestor window. Then nothing appears in the Mac Volume window apart from a 0 (zero) in the siaze column.


Sound like your trying to add Amiga partitions, not disk images.

It takes a few steps to do that, first you most prepare the partition in MediaToolBox, when you create the partition give it a device name like MAC1 or MAC2, that way you don't format the wrong volume in Basilisk, and disable automount, you do not want to see that partition on workbench, now reboot.

Run Basilisk again, add partition, make shore to type in “MAC1”, select the unit number of device. And select the device driver, basilisk will now scan your HD, looking for the partition volume named “MAC1”, size should pop up in the right column.

if not you have selected the wrong *.device and/or unit number.

after that You most add Boot disk, the boot disk has to be on top of the list to be the boot the disk, if it's at the bottom of the list, then Basilisk will not try to boot from it.

Yes I know some thing can be better in the GUI, but once you know how it works its not that bad.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 901
Excellent! Got it to work. Thanks, your help was invaluable.

Now to play! What performance can I expect compared to what i used to get with Shapeshifter on my 060 A1200?

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2733
@ddni

slower

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 901
Not much though! A10 cuba runs nicely.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 409
Added close gadget feature in basiliskII SVN repository (google). Tried a few times and seems to work fine.

If you want I can send you executable for testing (my e-mail is: jabierdlrATgmailDOTcom).

EDIT: fixed typo in e-mail (THX ribdevil)


Edited by jabirulo on 2014/5/17 14:18:56
Edited by jabirulo on 2014/5/17 14:19:30
Edited by jabirulo on 2014/5/17 14:20:36
   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 901
@jabirulo
Excellent. Thanks, email sent.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/1/22 20:03
From VIGO SPAIN
Posts: 386
@jabirulo

Correo enviado.

Pero cro que tienes mal la direccón, falta la "j" inicial.

Un saludo.


_________________
AmigaOne X5000 OS4.1 FEU1 And Lubuntu 10.04
1200 towered with Blizzard PPC - BVision and Mediator
And a new fantastic Chameleon64
   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 409
@RIBDEVIL
pozi!!! Corregido/Fixed

e-mail: jabierdlrATgmailDOTcom

   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 409
Ok, just uploaded the basiliskII test version here (only executable):

Here it is now, really
http://jabirulo.site90.com/temp/BasiliskII_01.7z

And a more uptodate version (2014.05.18):
http://jabirulo.site90.com/temp/BasiliskII_02.7z


Edited by jabirulo on 2014/5/17 22:37:36
Edited by jabirulo on 2014/5/18 9:34:18
Edited by jabirulo on 2014/5/18 14:03:42
   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 409
Hi, just managed to get sort of bip bip with AHI, reworking/fixing part of audio_amiga.cpp source.
At least it doesn't freeze system but don't get reliable sound output.

   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 901
Just doing a fresh OS8 install after finally finding my original cd. Using the beta you sent on email.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 409
@ddni

ok, thx for feedback. I manage to install OS8.1 on a hardfile image, take some time, but no problems.

   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 901
Using javiers latest version.
Finding that numerous .sit files from macintosh garden cause the emulated environment to freeze if using Stuffit expnader 5.5

Also find some dsi when starting games like A10 attack. They can generally be ignored and emulation continues.

Overall emulation is just a bit too slow to be comfortable. Any tips from seasoned users? Any insight as to a .jit enabled version?

Meanwhile though, it is damned good fun playing with classic mac again. Many thanks to those of you who have slaved away to get basilisk to where it currently is. You're great!

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 409
@ddni

-Will try to see that StuffIt v5.5. problem. Can you try with "non javier" BasiliskII version?

-As I haven't (and won't) touch the emulation code can't do anything.

-Yes is quite damm slow now, but as now is what we have. JIT? (maybe using euae_jit code? hint, hint) Not an experienced coders, so I'm afraid I can't do such thing.

Can you try to use BasiliskII under X1000 linux?

   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2733
@ddni

Quote:
They can generally be ignored and emulation continues.


In my experience after you ignore DSI error program often run slower.

Next time instead of pressing ignore can you copy & paste the crash log maybe in the forum,
or maybe or even better post the issue in the bugtracker at Basilsik for amiga at google.code.
so jabirulo can take a look at it, I'm busy whit Mplayer atm.

Quote:
Overall emulation is just a bit too slow to be comfortable. Any tips from seasoned users? Any insight as to a .jit enabled version?


I have started to look at it, but its not as simple as just replacing the UAE core, I don't know when I have time to look at it again.

As for video output I think we can make som improvements there, don't know if its going help or not, but anyway.

Quote:
Meanwhile though, it is damned good fun playing with classic mac again. Many thanks to those of you who have slaved away to get basilisk to where it currently is. You're great!


Well thank you, credits should be in change logs.

Basilisk II 1.0 is ported direct from AmigaOS3.x version, Basilisk II 0.9 was ported from MorphOS and mixed whit AmigaOS3.x code to make it work, the GUI was first written in MUI by MorphOS developers I believe or maybe it comes for the original AmigaOS3.x version?, I rewrote it so it became Reaction, some credits has to go to Itix, but there are many other developers that has worked on it, see change log at GIT-HUB also, sorry don't remember all the names of developers who worked on the AmigaOS3.x version before me.

The RDB partition support code is my idea, it was later back ported to MorphOS I believe.


Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/20 11:11:00
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 409
New (my own, not from SVN) beta version, now should work with AHI (_01 and _02 were using SDL audio).

http://jabirulo.site90.com/temp/BasiliskII_03ahi.7z

   Report Go to top

Re: Basilisk 1.0 beta testing
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2733
@jabirulo

nice work

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top


« 1 ... 3 4 5 (6) 7 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project