Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
70 user(s) are online (60 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 70

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 ... 30 »


Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2132
@samo79

You cannot run altivec code on non altivec machines. Eevn though there maybe only certain sections explictly coded for altivec as soon as you enable altivec in the compiler it will optimise other sections of the code to use it where possible.

So stop waste LiveForIt's time by reporting that altivec crashing on a SAM!

[edit] World record typo attempt...
[/edit]


_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3140
@broadblues

Quote:
You cannot run altivec code on non altivec machines


Well that's not very true Andy, MUI MPlayer (Altivec version) doesn't crash on non Altivc machines, another example is DvPlayer .. but i agree with you when you say that it isn't so important ..

   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2194
@samo79

Quote:
Well that's not very true Andy, MUI MPlayer (Altivec version) doesn't crash on non Altivc machines, another example is DvPlayer ..


Andy is correct, altivec code won't run on non-altivec machines.

Programs with altivec code that also run on non-altivec machines are written carefully such that the altivec code never runs on non-altivec machines. This requires separating out all code that is altivec, and putting them into separate source files. That way, only those files are compiled with altivec enabled.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/6/1 13:11
From Germany
Posts: 733
@zzd10h
yes 1080HD i can make a video of it with my smartphone and upload it to youtube

_________________
Amiga600/Vampire2/PrismaMegaMix​/32GB CF Card/2x Rys Mk2/A604n/IndivisionECS/Gotek
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 11:31
From Russia
Posts: 5392
@Andy,Hans
And mplayer writen in that good way with separated parts, and when build for altivec, some objects builds as for altivec, some are not. Probably liveforit just build all objects for altivec.

But that anyway make no big differences to run altivec based bins on non altivec machines of course.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/27 20:35
From Poland
Posts: 113
On my config (X1000 & Radeon HD 6870) movies look so:
http://amigaone.pl/robocze/mplayer.jpg

   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2194
@kas1e

Quote:
And mplayer writen in that good way with separated parts, and when build for altivec, some objects builds as for altivec, some are not. Probably liveforit just build all objects for altivec.

But that anyway make no big differences to run altivec based bins on non altivec machines of course.

Yes, compiling all objects with altivec enabled does make a difference for non-altivec machines. When you enable altivec, you're giving the compiler permission to use altivec instructions whenever it feels that it's the optimal choice. You don't even have to enable autovectorization for that to happen.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1494
@tommysammy
"yes 1080HD i can make a video of it with my smartphone and upload it to youtube"

Yes, please. I want to see that.

   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2734
@mufa

Sounds like a Radeon HD driver problem, composition should behave the same on all graphic cards.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 901
@mufa,

I get the diagonal lines if I omit the command line.
On the same video, I can fix the diagonal lines by using either -vo cgx_wpa OR -vo sdl

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2734
@ddni

If you have the same problem as Mufa, and does this happen to all films/videos or just some.

In case people like to know what graphic card I have, its a Radeon HD 6950.


Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/4/5 11:04:54
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2194
@LiveForIt

Quote:
There are some differences between cgx_wpa and comp output.
First difference I use ARGB bitmap, not RGB bitmap, this does not effect the X1000 at all, at lest not on my computer. But it might effect computers whit slower RAM bus.

13% more data is need to be sent to the graphic card, your result show that the bus speed is the bottleneck.


I realise that this is from an old post, but using a 24-bit RGB bitmap won't save on bandwidth because the destination bitmap is 32-bit ARGB.** Writing 3 bytes and then skipping one across the PCI(e) bus would be hideously slow, so it has to be converted to ARGB first, and then copied.

Hans


** Graphics cards don't like 24-bit bitmaps, because the pixels aren't nicely aligned to 32-bit boundaries.

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2734
@Hans

I did some calculations on Amigaworld, it steams the the PCI bus should be OK at peek load, it most be the way I'm rendering into the graphic memory instead of letting DMA handle it.

Quote:

Overlay: 640x480x2 = 614 400 bytes / per frame
Composition (ARGB): 640x480x4 = 1 228 800 bytes / per frame.

Overlay: 768x576x2 = 884 736 bytes / per frame
Composition (ARGB): 768x480x4 = 1 474 560 bytes / per frame.

Overlay: 800x600x2 = 960 000 bytes / per frame
Composition (ARGB): 800x600x4 = 1 920 000 bytes / per frame.

Overlay: 1280x720x2 = 1 843 200 bytes / per frame
Composition (ARGB): 1280x720x4 = 3 686 400 bytes / per frame.

Overlay: 1920×1080x2 = 4 147 200 bytes / per frame
Composition (ARGB): 1920×1080x4 = 8 294 400 bytes / per frame.

50 frames per second.

The max bus speed on PCI 33Mhz is 133 MB/s ~ 2.66 Mb/frame
The max bus speed on PCI 66Mhz is 266 MB/s ~ 5.32 Mb/frame



I'm guessing that max pci bus values are more of theoretical value then actual value, as the bus is shared between devices.


I'm just afraid If I changed it to buffered memory, it might effect the speed on X1000.

As PCIe is really fast and buffered copy might just be hindrance instead of a benefit.
What do you think.


Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/4/5 10:57:39
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/4/5 10:58:16
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/4/5 11:01:33
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/4/5 11:08:13
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/27 20:35
From Poland
Posts: 113
@ddni
Problem solution. Use resize gadget and press "F". Movies Displayed OK :)

   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/27 20:35
From Poland
Posts: 113
Ups,sorry, this method mplayer automatically switches to CGX_WPA mode, so works well. Comp mode all the time works badly.

   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2734
@mufa

I think your getting confused by the text output, there is no Re-size gadget on cgx_wpa.
You will get the same kind text output on composition version, because its based on cgx_wpa, don't let it confuse you.

Pressing Resize gadget and F here, make the video looked zoomed in, I think it changes the image_width and image_height or some thing.

EDIT:

There is round of width to 32bit. (0 to 7) 8 * 4 (bpp).
I will try to round it of by 64bit.


Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/4/5 14:14:25
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2734
@LiveForIt

The Cybergraphics screen mode detection code stucks so badly.

It try's to add 10 pixels to width and hight, in the hopes to find a resolution that is bigger then the video.
It never stops trying, what to do about that....

I guess I need to replace it, my monitor just does not support 1080p

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/6/1 13:11
From Germany
Posts: 733
@zzd10h

video is ready for upload
It will show you Transformers 4 1080HD
The beauty and the beast 1080HD
and Lunar 1080 HD
All in fullscreen :)

_________________
Amiga600/Vampire2/PrismaMegaMix​/32GB CF Card/2x Rys Mk2/A604n/IndivisionECS/Gotek
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/6/1 13:11
From Germany
Posts: 733
Upload is running

_________________
Amiga600/Vampire2/PrismaMegaMix​/32GB CF Card/2x Rys Mk2/A604n/IndivisionECS/Gotek
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/6/1 13:11
From Germany
Posts: 733
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_F8Y6TB138U

video and soundoutput is not everytime 100% synchron.
20% more speed ore driver optimization could solve it-maybe
Have fun

_________________
Amiga600/Vampire2/PrismaMegaMix​/32GB CF Card/2x Rys Mk2/A604n/IndivisionECS/Gotek
   Report Go to top


« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 ... 30 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project