Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
53 user(s) are online (43 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 52

Ami603, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Pasting from Workbench
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/18 1:32
From Hawaii
Posts: 221
All of a sudden, I cannot paste into Sylpheed with RA^V from Workbench. For a year or so I have been writing messages in NotePad and transferring them to one of my UseNet groups with a regular Amiga-style copy and paste. Now nothing happens. What could have changed?

Most of the time I did it on my A1. Now it's a SAM460. But I'm sure I've done some successful pasting in the month-and-a-half I've used the SAM excludively.

Come to think of it, I can't paste into Timberwolf either. I wonder if that's related?

   Report Go to top

Re: Pasting from Workbench
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/2 0:35
From Sydney
Posts: 685
I don't think paste (into the URL space) is supported yet in TimberWolf.

   Report Go to top

Re: Pasting from Workbench
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1325
@kilaueabart
Maybe you need to do some testing to see what isn't working for you. Open a shell window window and enter "list" or "assign". Then highlight some text in the shell window (drag the pointer across some text while holding down the left mouse button) and enter RA^C to copy the text. Enter "CLIP Get" in the shell window and you should see the text that you copied. Depending on the type of text you have copied, you might see a file in ram:clipboards named "0" that contains the text you copied. If that file is there then the text copy worked. If the little test above worked then the problem must be with the programs you are copying from/to.

   Report Go to top

Re: Pasting from Workbench
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/18 1:32
From Hawaii
Posts: 221
I thought that the problem with pasting into TimberWolf's URL requester was *probably* one of a number of TimberWolf problems (though I have more of those on the SAM -- e.g. no bookmarks -- than I did on the A1 XE). Too bad, because I find some things that I could do with TimberWolf that mui-owb fails at, and they have long URLs.

But rest assured I wouldn't have questioned the Sylpheed problem had it not worked very well previously without making sure that copy still put things in Clipboards and paste still normally copied them out to most normal programs.

   Report Go to top

Re: Pasting from Workbench
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2144
@kilaueabart

Have you tried capturing a snoopy log whilst you cut & paste to see if something somewhere fails?

I assume from your previous comment that the copy from NotePad is working an can be pasted elsewhere just not Slypheed?


   Report Go to top

Re: Pasting from Workbench
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/18 1:32
From Hawaii
Posts: 221
Quote:

broadblues wrote:
@kilaueabart

Have you tried capturing a snoopy log whilst you cut & paste to see if something somewhere fails?

I hadn't, but it sounded like a good idea, so I wrote a text and started Snoopy. I was a bit shocked to see a constant stream of
Quote:
idesk : o.k. = [exec] OpenDevice("timer.device",0,0x4EE001C0,0x00000000) = 0 [33uS]
go by; seems like a waste of good processor time.
I asked for Failed operations only, copied the text, went to Sylpheed, and successfully pasted it!

That's sort of the story of my SAM460 experience so far. Just because something doesn't work today, it doesn't mean it won't tomorrow, or maybe the next day.

   Report Go to top

Re: Pasting from Workbench
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/5/2 12:14
From Sweden
Posts: 499
@kilaueabart

Could you have had CapsLock enabled? That can stop shortcuts from working sometimes since it turns the letters into uppercase whereas the hotkey might be defined as lowercase only.

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project