Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
69 user(s) are online (56 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 69

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Pegasos 2 + Os4.1 FE help.
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/11/6 11:13
Posts: 26
Hey Amigans!

My XE motherboard is dead, and my friend Huno gave me his old Pegasos 2. But I'm facing some problems and I can't find any answer on any forum. (+amigaworld.net looks dead).


Small questions:

-I'd like to remove the Os4.1 openfirmware loader timer. I only have 1 Os on my SSD, but I still have to wait 4-5 seconds on every boot. I can't found any command to reduce (remove?) this timer.

-My keyboard only have 1 Windows key. On the XE, UBoot can remap the right Windows key to the menu key, but the Pegasos 2 just can't. I tryed with AmigaKeyRemapper with no success. I just can't have a second working Amiga key. I've seen people with the same question, but no real answer :(


BIG problem!

-When running any Warp3D application (either MiniGL games or my own W3D game), the USB mouse/keyboard inputs are very laggy. The mouse is freezed most of the time, the keyboard answer with delay.

I tryed with a fresh install of Os4.1 FE, also with update 1, without success.

3 mouses and 2 keyboards tested: Same problem.

Pegasos 2 onboard USB or VIA PCI USB: Same problem.

The only workaround I've found is using PS/2 peripherals, but since we are in 2017, it's not really a solution.

Maybe I missed something?


Thank you for reading me

_________________
AmigaOne XE --- 7455A@1.4Ghz --- Radeon 9000 Pro --- RAM 2GB --- SSD 40GB
   Report Go to top

Re: Pegasos 2 + Os4.1 FE help.
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 11:31
From Russia
Posts: 4191
@Crisot
On peg2 i use ps2 and the same keyboard : it is always working and give me no problems for years. Imho, even its is not good solution, to use ps2 ones. Those ones always prove to be fine on peg2.

Sadly, i do not know why we all the time have usb problems with mouses and keyboards on os4. But maybe you can try to play with those kickstart modules EHCI, etc, etc. Disable maybe 2.0 ones, and keep 1.1 ones (i remember it was helpfull for some users).

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Pegasos 2 + Os4.1 FE help.
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/3/10 10:51
From Germany
Posts: 605
I'm with Roman here - I only use PS/2 peripherals with my Pegasos II. I even bought those AmigaOne/OS keyboard and mouse from Amigakit with PS/2 on purpose. Both work flawless.

_________________
X1000|II/G4|440ep|2000/060|2000/040|1000
   Report Go to top

Re: Pegasos 2 + Os4.1 FE help.
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/11/6 11:13
Posts: 26
Grmbl... I see.

The problem is not to find PS/2 peripherals. It's to find GOOD PS/2 peripherals. Actually I'm used to my Logitech wireless setup, I used it on my XE for years, and I can hardly go back to stuff looking like 1990

About the AmigaOs Open Bootloader timer, any advice? This timer bother me

_________________
AmigaOne XE --- 7455A@1.4Ghz --- Radeon 9000 Pro --- RAM 2GB --- SSD 40GB
   Report Go to top

Re: Pegasos 2 + Os4.1 FE help.
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 16:55
Posts: 260
@Crisot

Sorry to hear about your XE and glad that Huno was able to to give you the Peg2.

Have you tried any PS2 to USB converters? Hopefully cheap or homemade passive adapters will be enough since the active converters are quite expensive.

   Report Go to top

Re: Pegasos 2 + Os4.1 FE help.
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/11/6 11:13
Posts: 26
Hey Rob! Unfortunately I tryed passive adapters with no success. Any modern mouse/keyboard does not work with thoses anyway :(

But it's the first time I hear about active converters? Maybe it's the solution? !!! :)

EDIT: Just looked on the web. I can find PS2->USB active converter, but no USB->PS2. Thoses are passive only :(

Thank you anyway! :)

_________________
AmigaOne XE --- 7455A@1.4Ghz --- Radeon 9000 Pro --- RAM 2GB --- SSD 40GB
   Report Go to top

Re: Pegasos 2 + Os4.1 FE help.
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 16:55
Posts: 260
@Crisot

The cheapest and easy to find on the web seems to be the linkskey LKV-PUC01.

I even managed to find an image of it with the cover off so you can see whats inside.

Link

I also found 3 others from my searches but they are more expensive or you need to get a quote which probably isn't going to be cheap.

http://www.kvmchoice.com/detail_switch.asp?id=1450

http://www.blackbox.co.uk/gb-gb/fi/14 ... 26/USB-to-PS-2-Converter/

http://www.nti1.co.uk/ps2-to-usb-adapter.html

   Report Go to top

Re: Pegasos 2 + Os4.1 FE help.
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/11/6 11:13
Posts: 26
Wow so cool !!! So much thanks !!!

It's the price of an XE motherboard ahah but at least it can solve my problem ! ☺️

_________________
AmigaOne XE --- 7455A@1.4Ghz --- Radeon 9000 Pro --- RAM 2GB --- SSD 40GB
   Report Go to top

Re: Pegasos 2 + Os4.1 FE help.
Just popping in
Joined:
2016/3/10 14:15
From Poland
Posts: 19
@Crisot

Dungeon Crawler will be available in AmiStore?
When the first demo?

We are very happy that you are working on the game.
We love your AmigaOne demos: One, Two .....


PS.
A-Eon can help you fix AmigaOne?
You wrote to Trevor?

   Report Go to top

Re: Pegasos 2 + Os4.1 FE help.
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/11/6 11:13
Posts: 26
It's the motherboard unfortunately, CPU modules are easy to fix as long as it only a dead G4, but I just don't understand what goes wrong with my motherboard.

I'm still working on the game, but I'm actually porting it to Windows, and honnestly this will help me work faster (faster compilation + working on the same computer I use to build 3D/Textures + protected memory + no crash + task killing, etc...)

Of course the game is still designed to work on Os4.1/Warp3D.

_________________
AmigaOne XE --- 7455A@1.4Ghz --- Radeon 9000 Pro --- RAM 2GB --- SSD 40GB
   Report Go to top

Re: Pegasos 2 + Os4.1 FE help.
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 16:55
Posts: 260
@Crisot

Do you have any plans to get a PCIe Amiga NG see what you can get out of the Nova API?

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project