Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
58 user(s) are online (52 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 57

Severin, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 (2)


Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3226
@Jack

Good, because it still didn't make any sense to me

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:17
From Israel
Posts: 928
@Chris:

Quote:

Good, because it still didn't make any sense to me


Amigan with dead Amiga can be totally non-sencible
Believe me.
Take Helgis as one of the extermities

Jacl

_________________
Resized Image
"the expression, 'atonal music,' is most unfortunate--it is on a par with calling flying 'the art of not falling,' or swimming 'the art of not drowning.'. A. Schoenberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/28 23:13
Posts: 69
Quote:

Jack wrote


Amigan with dead Amiga can be totally non-sencible
Believe me.
Take Helgis as one of the extermities

Jacl


Sush ! or Helgis will show here, you have to know he will try.

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:17
From Israel
Posts: 928
@Adept

Quote:
Sush ! or Helgis will show here, you have to know he will try.



LOL

Jack

_________________
Resized Image
"the expression, 'atonal music,' is most unfortunate--it is on a par with calling flying 'the art of not falling,' or swimming 'the art of not drowning.'. A. Schoenberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:17
From Israel
Posts: 928
Just ressurecting this to see if any of newcomers (welcome!) are in this sad boat.
So far there are 3 of us (me and two more) that confirmed their situation. According to my and others estimates there should be much more.

Jack

_________________
Resized Image
"the expression, 'atonal music,' is most unfortunate--it is on a par with calling flying 'the art of not falling,' or swimming 'the art of not drowning.'. A. Schoenberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/3 12:02
From Beside the "Father of Waters", the Mississippi, in St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 272
I seem to remember something about the CPU modules for the A1 being some of the same ones used in some of the PPC Macs. If this is the case, then you might have a bigger slice of the pie to work with than just A1 modules and A1 repair places.

_________________
For those who are brave enough to want to know me better, visit
my Home Page, my Storefront, and blogsey
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3226
@Billsey

They're not. IIRC the connector is the same, but it isn't pin-compatible.

Chris

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/17 17:17
From Peterborough. Big-Bash-Shire. England, Distro:Ubuntu & Os4
Posts: 789
Yeah, I thought I asked about pin compatibility betweeh Mac & A1 meg arrays on AW

_________________
Are we nearly there yet ?
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:17
From Israel
Posts: 928
Meanwhile there's this confusing bit on prices:

I found at some surplus part reseller MC7457RX1267LC (@1267MHz) for 791US$UPS shipment, about 30US$ imho)

I also went to Freescale's online store and found a MC7457RX1267LC (1GHz, the only 7457 available online) for 248.88US$(without shipment/handling)

Go figure


Jack

_________________
Resized Image
"the expression, 'atonal music,' is most unfortunate--it is on a par with calling flying 'the art of not falling,' or swimming 'the art of not drowning.'. A. Schoenberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:17
From Israel
Posts: 928
A question about compatibility between MPC7455 and MPC7457 G4-s:

7455 page states this:

"Offered in a 483-pin CBGA package, the MPC7455 processor is
pin-compatible with Freescale's MPC7451/MPC7450 processors:

7457 page states this:

"Offered in a 483-pin CBGA package, the MPC7457 processor is
footprint-compatible with Freescale's award-winning MPC7455/45 processors"

It isn't the same thing (At least doesn't reads the same) . Footprint indeed the same. But electronically? Number of pins and their geometry are the same too. But the layout(electronically)?
Can anyone throw some info?

Jack

_________________
Resized Image
"the expression, 'atonal music,' is most unfortunate--it is on a par with calling flying 'the art of not falling,' or swimming 'the art of not drowning.'. A. Schoenberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/25 13:38
From Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 619
Check how much the shipping actually is. I recently bought YDL4 to try and install on my A1 (through mechanic) and the UPS shipping price was outrageous, $90US to Australia and then it took weeks!

ace

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:17
From Israel
Posts: 928
UPS from Florida to Israel including handling is 40$(it's resellers statement). However, if I perform a rework in US (alrady found a place there) I would order the cpu directly to the rework station. So that's not an issue.
And I suppose that 7457 isn't electronically compatible with 7455 and that makes 7455@933MHz from the reseller for ~290US$ as the only option. Total rework price would be <500US$, maybe even <400US$.
The only catch here is if the module itself ok. That's why I'm waiting for news from Adam. If I was patient, I would wait for 1.7GHz ones to be released and then get a 2-nd hand G4 cheap, but that means a used cpu module. 850US$ for cpu is too expensive for me. The ideal solution I would jump onto it right now us <=500US$ for 1.1GHzG4 (sigh)...

Jack

_________________
Resized Image
"the expression, 'atonal music,' is most unfortunate--it is on a par with calling flying 'the art of not falling,' or swimming 'the art of not drowning.'. A. Schoenberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/5 20:43
From Nice, so nice
Posts: 163
Hi,

You can add me on your list.
After 5 monthes in a box (I moved home),
switching on the A1 gives a black screen:
no serial output, battery is good, dust cleaned, etc. Nothing.

I'm not sure what to do now.

Bye,
TMTisFree

_________________
"Never ascribe to malice that which is adequately explained by incompetence." (Napoléon Bonaparte)
"I would love to change the world, but they won’t give me the source code." (Unknown)
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:17
From Israel
Posts: 928
@TMTisFree
Quote:

Hi,

You can add me on your list.
After 5 monthes in a box (I moved home),
switching on the A1 gives a black screen:
no serial output, battery is good, dust cleaned, etc. Nothing.

I'm not sure what to do now.


Are you from Denill's thread on AW.net?
First get the A1+ram to AmigaCenter/France (you are luckily close ) so Jean Jacquescould diagnoze it 1-st... Don't rush to join the club. And you'll know for certain if the mobo itself is ok.

Good luck...
Jack

_________________
Resized Image
"the expression, 'atonal music,' is most unfortunate--it is on a par with calling flying 'the art of not falling,' or swimming 'the art of not drowning.'. A. Schoenberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/5 20:43
From Nice, so nice
Posts: 163
Yes, this is what I'm planning to do.
I still have to test my A2000 which had
pb (dead?) last time I check. So I will send
only one packet.
Luckily, my A4000T runs without trouble.

Bye,
TMTisFree

_________________
"Never ascribe to malice that which is adequately explained by incompetence." (Napoléon Bonaparte)
"I would love to change the world, but they won’t give me the source code." (Unknown)
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:17
From Israel
Posts: 928
@TMTisFree
Quote:
Luckily, my A4000T runs without trouble


Ain't fun going down to 50MHz, but it's better than nothing...

Take care,
Jack.

_________________
Resized Image
"the expression, 'atonal music,' is most unfortunate--it is on a par with calling flying 'the art of not falling,' or swimming 'the art of not drowning.'. A. Schoenberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/7 0:35
Posts: 26
Hi to All!

@TMTisFree
Have you tried removing all the cards plus ram, and then inserting them again?

Cheers,
Tim

P.S. Its good to have a new and pleasant home site again.

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/5 20:43
From Nice, so nice
Posts: 163
I have removed everything except the CPU module
while testing the serial output which outputs nothing.
I'm preparing to send the A1 MB to AmigaCenter together
with my dead A2000 MB.

Bye,
TMTisFree

_________________
"Never ascribe to malice that which is adequately explained by incompetence." (Napoléon Bonaparte)
"I would love to change the world, but they won’t give me the source code." (Unknown)
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/21 22:49
From Birmingham, UK
Posts: 48
Stellar Dreams mainly died due to lack of A1s really I am afraid...

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to fix A1 CPU module
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/15 22:40
Posts: 262
@TMTisFree

I wish you good luck. Some people have made very good experience with those Frenchmen.

   Report Go to top


« 1 (2)



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project