Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
67 user(s) are online (53 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 67

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



(1) 2 »


Qt5 progress
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/10/7 0:11
From Copenhagen
Posts: 1186
Here's how it is at present:

- qmake built
- command line tools built
- corelib building this very minue

...more to follow.

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/10/29 10:20
From Uppsala, Sweden
Posts: 666
Great!

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1462
I will follow this thread with a lot of attention.

Phonon, WebKit with html5 support a lot of big things !

Courage and, still, congrats.

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/26 16:47
Posts: 1420
wow!

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 2973
Simply awesome !
As Guillaume said this will be a very interesting thread

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/1/1 12:01
From Latina, Italy
Posts: 208
Niceeee !!!!!!!!!!

_________________
Sam 460EX, 2Gb Ram, Radeon R7 250, AmigaOS4.1 FE
A4000 PPC604@233, Mediator
A1200 PPC603@160, Mediator
uA1 G3@800, 512 Mb [sold]
   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/2 0:31
From Poland
Posts: 249
Quote:
... this will be a very interesting thread


It already is

_________________
Sam440 flex 800MHz RAM 1GB R9250 128MB OS4.1 SBLive! ->
   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/10/25 9:21
From Gothenburg / Sweden
Posts: 1175
Great work :)

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/3/10 10:51
From Germany
Posts: 605
I think it's time for another donation...

_________________
X1000|II/G4|440ep|2000/060|2000/040|1000
   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3145
Wow! Have a few days break at least!

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/6/1 13:11
From Germany
Posts: 720
Very nice

_________________
AmigaOne X1000 Betatester A1-X1090
AmigaOne X1000/4GB Ram/Saphire Radeon 7850 1GB/256GB SSD HD/2GB CF Card/RTL8169Network/
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=28870
   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3460
I was wondering why this news, then I realised it was Qt*5* (doh).

Now the stupid question: What can we do with Qt5, that we couldn't be Qt4.7 ? (I know it's more modern, but what needs it?)

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1462
If Alfkil succeed to build Qt5 WebKit, we can hope to have html5 support.
Could be very nice !

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1307
@ChrisH

Video on youtube showing new features: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhWS_bN-T3k#t=143

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/7/20 19:01
Posts: 34
This is *awesome* news!!

Quote:

ChrisH wrote:
I was wondering why this news, then I realised it was Qt*5* (doh).

Now the stupid question: What can we do with Qt5, that we couldn't be Qt4.7 ? (I know it's more modern, but what needs it?)


The biggest difference as a developer is the way of connecting signals and slots has changed whereas before it was

connect (signal_object, SIGNAL (...), slot_object, SLOT (....))

in Qt5 it's

connect (signal_object, SignalClass :: SignalFunction, slot_object, SlotClass :: SlotFunction);

It feels quicker than Qt4 (on Windows at least). This will definitely make the app I'm developing way easier to release on the Amiga as I'd already converted all of the signal/slot to the new style

billy

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3145
Quote:

ChrisH wrote:
Now the stupid question: What can we do with Qt5, that we couldn't be Qt4.7 ? (I know it's more modern, but what needs it?)


Everybody writing open source stuff using Qt seems to be migrating to it. Apparently it's structured better so the platform dependent bits are easy to maintain through updates, so Qt 5.1 etc should be a doddle and we can stay up-to-date.

@alfkil - Please can you ensure it is possible to install Qt5 alongside Qt 4.7.

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/10/7 0:11
From Copenhagen
Posts: 1186
Progress:

Apparently most of the system specific stuff has been located in plugins, and so I can pretty much build anything I like in the whole package, but of course I can't run anything, because I haven't done the amiga specific plugins. Everything seems nicely located, but I bet there are some caveats comming up. Should be possible to do before Christmas, though (fingers crossed, not forgetting to never promise anything before the bear has been located, shot, cut into pieces and eaten...).

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 2973
Alfkil, take your time, it's not a Grand Prix!
The important is the final result, not the timeline and i'm sure you will got the best result without any internal or external pression

Meantime we can continue our testing on the current 4.7.0, there are so many great things to test and use that we can enjoy it for years !

Just a curiosity: what version of "Qt5" are you porting right now ?

Recently, at the end of August a new 5.1.1 was released and according to the comment worldwide it seems pretty stable release

Keep it up!

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1462
Yes, as Samir said, take your time. We still have a lot of things to do or port with the 4.7

What about the bugs on 4.7, will you continue to release QuickFix or will you wait for Qt5 to fix all little problems that we are discovering in the beta-test thread ?

   Report Go to top

Re: Qt5 progress
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/10/7 0:11
From Copenhagen
Posts: 1186
@zzd10h

Of course I will continue to produce quickfixes for Qt4.7 as issues come in and as time allows. If there is some pressing issue, please be a little persistent about it, since I tend to forget what has been written at what time etc. I still have a list that samo79 has written, but there might of course be other things in orbit.

@Chris

I could simply make Qt5 reference a qt5: assign instead of qt:. That should be easy to do.

   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project