Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
72 user(s) are online (57 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 72

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 7 »


Re: Lack of progress
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3489
@Slayer
I plan to donate, but only after TW reaches a level of stability that means I can actually use it (which seems tantilisingly close now).

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1247
@Slayer
Like Chris I plan on donating when it becomes usable. The current version just slows down my system and other applications too much to make everyday use of TW. My pointer even gets jerky or freezes while TW is loading.

_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/19 18:07
From Vesterbro / Copenhagen / Denmark
Posts: 131
The bounty for Timberwolf is finished and cant be donated to any more.

_________________
Te audire no possum. Musa sapientum fixa est in aure.
Ad eundum quo nemo ante iit.
   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3173
You can however donate through http://www.friedenhq.org/

   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/7/7 3:34
From Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2198
Quote:

tfrieden wrote:
...
We'll see... just thought I owe everyone an update on the situation. Thanks for the good wishes, it seems they helped.


I'll toast to that great news !!!


_________________
_______________________________
c64-dual sids, A1000, A1200-060@50, A4000-CSMKIII
Indivision AGA & Catweasel MK4+= Amazing
! My Master Miggies-Amiga1000 & AmigaONE X1000 !
mancave-ramblings

   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/24 17:14
Posts: 624
Quote:

Elwood wrote:

There was a speed increase in one of the versions of FF. It will certainly help with the speed issue.


IIRC, the later versions also used significantly less memory than 4.0.1

Plus, I finally want to use AdBlock again :)

_________________
Seriously, if you do want to contact me write me a mail. You're more likely to get a reply then.
   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/12/22 11:16
Posts: 92
Looking forward to a first release. Thanks for your work.

www.amiboing.de
www.entwickler-x.de

   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/20 17:26
Posts: 258
"The current version just slows down my system and other applications too much to make everyday use of TW. My pointer even gets jerky or freezes while TW is loading."

Jerky pointer is "too easy" to do on AOS4.

That reminded me that I'm not fully aware how I set application priorities on AOS4.

(I only remmber the executive way.)

Perhaps also other people need memory refresh on that?

Is it via icon/tooltypes/? ?

_________________
- Kimmo
--------------------------PowerPC-Advantage------------------------
"PowerPC Operating Systems can use a microkernel architecture with all it�s advantages yet without the cost of slow context switches." - N. Blachford
   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1314
You can but you shouldn't touch it. This is OS4 scheduler to take care of that, not the user.

For debugging purpose you can use SysMon to change a task priority.

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/20 17:26
Posts: 258
I think it's the Amiga way to give user the control to finetune the OS behaviour unlike on any other OS.

OS can not know how I prefer running programs. Some apps I want to be realtime and some I prefer to run in the background when there is idle CPU time. And sometimes I might want to set DVD playback to be in realtime, sometimes not. And I do not want to manually reset everything after reboot, like on most other OSs.

Anyway, found it:
"The reserved Tool Types are TOOLPRI=n (sets the Exec task priority at which Workbench will start the application)"
Starting to like the wiki!

(and for dos guys & gals: http://amiga.sourceforge.net/amigadev ... up=AmigaDOS&action=Search)


Edited by KimmoK on 2013/2/6 11:40:16
_________________
- Kimmo
--------------------------PowerPC-Advantage------------------------
"PowerPC Operating Systems can use a microkernel architecture with all it�s advantages yet without the cost of slow context switches." - N. Blachford
   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3173
Quote:

KimmoK wrote:
"The reserved Tool Types are TOOLPRI=n (sets the Exec task priority at which Workbench will start the application)"


IIRC RAWBInfo has a little gadget which shows/sets this.

   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/26 23:16
Posts: 983
@KimmoK
Quote:
I think it's the Amiga way to give user the control to finetune the OS behaviour unlike on any other OS.

Don't mess with AmigaOS Task/Process priorities. Leave that to the experts please.

_________________
Be authentic. Get AmigaOS.
Amiga Users of Calgary (AMUC)
   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/20 17:26
Posts: 258
I do not touch OS internal doings. Just third party apps and programs.

_________________
- Kimmo
--------------------------PowerPC-Advantage------------------------
"PowerPC Operating Systems can use a microkernel architecture with all it�s advantages yet without the cost of slow context switches." - N. Blachford
   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/22 17:57
From Italy, Rome
Posts: 534
Do you have any news, Thomas?

Thank you

   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/10/15 6:13
Posts: 95
Will the hardware acceleration support older machines with older radeon graphics cards like 9250? Please forgive my ignorance will galium only support hd cards or will it support older cards also?

   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/20 17:26
Posts: 258
While we wait ...
interesting that also IBM seems to invest in Gallium3D... (or something).
http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=MTI5OTM
"IBM's Porting Gallium3D LLVMpipe To PowerPC"

(more interesting reads, perhaps)

(&dreaming of GPU computing)

@Fairdikem

IIRC, 9250 is R200 based and Gallium3D supports R300 forward.
"Gallium3D additionally requires a level of shader support that is not available on older cards like e.g. ATi r100-r200"

Chip vs card:(Radeon wiki)


Edited by KimmoK on 2013/2/13 13:34:49
Edited by KimmoK on 2013/2/13 13:38:19
_________________
- Kimmo
--------------------------PowerPC-Advantage------------------------
"PowerPC Operating Systems can use a microkernel architecture with all it�s advantages yet without the cost of slow context switches." - N. Blachford
   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/22 17:57
From Italy, Rome
Posts: 534
Quote:
"IBM's Porting Gallium3D LLVMpipe To PowerPC"


Definitely interesting

   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/5 19:30
Posts: 213
Quote:

tfrieden wrote:
Well, to put up a bit of an update, I've started updating the current version to the latest baseline source, so wit ha bit of luck, the next version will be Timberwolf 19.0.


!!!

Awesome news! I'll look forward to when it's done!

   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/5/2 12:14
From Sweden
Posts: 473
@xenic

Quote:
My pointer even gets jerky or freezes while TW is loading.


That's because the USB HID tasks run a priority 10 which is the same as the partition tasks. Kind of silly to have the USB HID tasks run at pri 10 when input.device runs at pri 20.

Who made *that* decission and why?!?!?
ssolie, comments on that?

_________________
Software developer for Amiga OS3 and OS4.
Develops for OnyxSoft and the Amiga using E and C and occasionally C++
   Report Go to top

Re: Lack of progress
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 2975
@tfrieden

More than 2 months passed now, any news ?

   Report Go to top


« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 7 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project