Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
81 user(s) are online (76 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 81

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



(1) 2 »


Amicygnix in window mode?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/30 18:43
From Norway
Posts: 2461
I read somewhere on aw.net that amicygnix can be run on workbench with windows, instead of launching the amicygnix desktop. But there are bugs masking it unusable after update 1. Does anyone have a screenshot of this window mode in action, and will this issue be fixed any time soon?


   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/2 1:41
From VA, USA
Posts: 193

Last time I ran AmiCygnix in window mode it was perfectly
usable. It's just that the colors were wrong - everything
was pink-ish - and it's a bit slower then full screenmode.

IIRC, you can select the "picasso96pip" video driver in
the myX11SetUp program and off it goes.

Good luck,

PJS

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/24 12:23
Posts: 466
Quote:

Antique wrote:
I read somewhere on aw.net that amicygnix can be run on workbench with windows, instead of launching the amicygnix desktop. But there are bugs masking it unusable after update 1. Does anyone have a screenshot of this window mode in action, and will this issue be fixed any time soon?



Since Update 1 the support of PIP windows with pixel format "R5G6B5" ist broken. Because of this you get wrong colors, when you use the AmiCygnix PIP driver.

The problem is reported to the OS4 developer team / Steven Solie, but it seems, that it is not solved yet.

BTW: You cannot make a snapshot of a PIP window, the content would be black. But here is a snapshot of a new (and very alpha) workbench window driver:

Resized Image


So just to say it clear: Still the complete desktop is displayed in this window.

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/30 18:43
From Norway
Posts: 2461
@cygnused

So it is not possible to have each program in each window? Was this possible before or was it like the picture you added now?

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/6/17 14:04
From Waterbury, Connecticut (USA)
Posts: 247
@Antique

Quote:
So it is not possible to have each program in each window? Was this possible before or was it like the picture you added now?

if you have an OS4.1 installation updated with update 1 or later, you can still use the picasso96pip driver -- but the color table appears hosed: everything in the window will appear pink-ish or green-ish.

you could, in the past, launch applications from their workbench icon, and, with appropriately altered .bat files (no panel, no desktop manager, no window manager, etc.), it would appear to run within a workbench window. so i would use abiword or gnumeric alongside tunenet and wookiechat. sadly that didn't last long once i updated to update 1.

oh well. hopefully it will get addressed one day. the performance is better when amicygnix is assigned its own screen anyway. :)

-- eliyahu

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1314
@All

check OS4depot

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/30 18:43
From Norway
Posts: 2461
Nice one. Will try this one really soon.

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/2 11:14
From South Florida, USA
Posts: 196
If not viewed already, Epsilon over on AWnet has a super nice blog about installing Amicygnix on X1000.

http://amigax1000.blogspot.com.au/


   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/24 12:23
Posts: 466
Quote:

mechanic wrote:
If not viewed already, Epsilon over on AWnet has a super nice blog about installing Amicygnix on X1000.

http://amigax1000.blogspot.com.au/



What a nice report! Thanks for the hint!

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/3 15:30
From Essex, UK
Posts: 416
Will the run in a window option be fixed, would like that

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/24 12:23
Posts: 466
Quote:

sicky wrote:
Will the run in a window option be fixed, would like that

Hmm - what do you mean? With AmiCygnix 1.1 you should be able to run an app in a workbench window using the "picasso96wb" display driver. The "picasso96pip" driver for overlay windows does still not work - that's true. But this is an issue of the OS. Hyperion is working on that.

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/11/19 22:44
From Tarsus IV
Posts: 548
May I ask the difference between 'Picasso96WB' and 'Picasso96PIP'?

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 366
AmiCygnix-en.guide is your friend!!

..
* picasso96pip

This driver opens a window on the workbench using an overlay window.
Because of this, the driver can only be used once, as only one overlay
window is currently possible.
Starting with update 1 of AmigaOS 4.1 the colors of the display are
wrong. This will hopefully be fixed in one of the next updates.

* picasso96wb

This driver opens a window on the workbench using a normal intuition
window. Because of this, the driver can be used several times.

The driver works on 16 or 32 bit screens, even the driver supports only
16 bit displays. But the performance on 16 bit screens is better because
the data must be converted.

Important:

This driver is called "experimental", because it is somehow unfinish and
not perfect. Mouse movement and rendering is maybe not as smooth as
..

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/11/19 22:44
From Tarsus IV
Posts: 548
Not Amiga at the moment here, but thanks.

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/26 16:47
Posts: 1420
How do i run pidgin in it's own window?
I tried to modify one of the standalone scripts but it fails to start.

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/11/19 22:44
From Tarsus IV
Posts: 548
I tried that also, it tries to open a window but then it quits. Although a newest version would be better.

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/24 12:23
Posts: 466
@spotUP

Are you sure, that the path of the program is correct? And please notice, that the "-geometry" option is not supported by every program.
Here is my script I use for pidgin:


;
; $VER: Start_Pidgin_Standalone.bat 4.0 (01.10.2012) © Edgar Schwan
;

.key VERBOSE/K,DISPLAYNUMBER/K,ARGS/M
.def VERBOSE 0
.def DISPLAYNUMBER -1
.bra {
.ket }

Set PROGPATH "Cygnix:CygnixPPC/bin/pidgin"

Set DEF_XDRIVER "picasso96wb"
Set DEF_WINWIDTH "1024"
Set DEF_WINHEIGHT "768"
Set DEF_WINDOWMANAGER "Openbox"

If EXISTS "Cygnix:myX11SetupLight"
Cygnix:myX11SetupLight
If ${DONOTSTART} EQ "YES"
Quit 20
EndIf
Else
Set Cygnix/CYGNIX_SCREEN_MODE ${DEF_XDRIVER}@${DEF_WINWIDTH}x${DEF_WINHEIGHT}x16
Set Cygnix/CYGNIX_DESKTOP_BACKGROUND "none"
Set Cygnix/CYGNIX_WINDOW_MANAGER "Cygnix:CygnixPPC/bin/openbox"
EndIf

Set PROGARGS " "

; Internal settings
Set LAUNCH_SOUND_SERVER 0
Set LAUNCH_WINDOW_MANAGER 1
Set OPENBOX_RC_FILE "openbox-rc.xml"

Execute Cygnix:S/Execute_Standalone.bat VERBOSE={VERBOSE} DISPLAYNUMBER={DISPLAYNUMBER} {ARGS}

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/24 12:23
Posts: 466
@Phantom

The newest version of pidgin (2.10.6) is in development, but it will need some time to be completed.

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/11/19 22:44
From Tarsus IV
Posts: 548
@cygnusEd

That's great to hear.

   Report Go to top

Re: Amicygnix in window mode?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/26 16:47
Posts: 1420
allright, i got pidgin working! =)
when i start irc it tells me i shouldn't use irc as root and bans me though haha...

does the new version of pidgin have support for skype messaging?

   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project