Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
68 user(s) are online (54 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 68

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



(1) 2 »


recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/7/7 3:34
From Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2192
get this window at every boot after last full AmiUpdate..anyone else get this before I start 'rolling back'?

'CHARSETCONVERT: Zero length FROM file "ram:tmp.txt"
'C:Charsetconvert failed returncode 20'


_________________
_______________________________
c64-dual sids, A1000, A1200-060@50, A4000-CSMKIII
Indivision AGA & Catweasel MK4+= Amazing
! My Master Miggies-Amiga1000 & AmigaONE X1000 !
mancave-ramblings

   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 884
Yes, it comes from the former version of DirMeUp (a new one and a new demo are available).

I had to edit envarc:Sys/ringhio.appsprefs.xml and delete the ligne about DirMeUp to get rid of this message.

Glames has found that a character not supported by Ringhio had been used.

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/1 12:20
From Anzio (Rome), Italy
Posts: 101
What character was used ?

And btw I strongly advice to do not edit the xml file but use instead the Prefs/Notification editor and the Delete button.

_________________
Max Tretene, ACube Systems Srl, Soft3
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 884
m3x : yeh, I know we must NOT touche this file but I found this error really annoying (and I had forgetted about the preferencs, shame on me ).

Glames could answer your question.

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/1/1 12:01
From Latina, Italy
Posts: 208
I think he would say "underscore _" character

_________________
Sam 460EX, 2Gb Ram, Radeon R7 250, AmigaOS4.1 FE
A4000 PPC604@233, Mediator
A1200 PPC603@160, Mediator
uA1 G3@800, 512 Mb [sold]
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/2/15 11:05
Posts: 84
@m3x

I got a similar error the other day, due to a strange ringhio.appsprefs.xml entry :
<application>
    <
name>ÃÃÃΒ
ƒΓ‚‚‚ƒÃÂÂÃΒ
‚‚ƒÃÃΒ
ƒΓ‚ƒÃ‚‚ƒÃ‚‚ÃÃΒ
‚ƒÃ‚ƒÃ‚‚ÂÂÃΒ
ƒΓ‚‚ƒÃƒÂƒÃ‚ƒÃÂÃΒ
‚‚ƒÃ‚ÃΒ
ƒΓ‚ƒÃ‚ƒÃ‚‚‚ÃÃÃΒ
‚‚ƒÃ‚‚ÃÃΒ
ƒΓ‚‚ƒÃ‚‚ÂÂÂÃΒ
‚ƒ
</name>
    <
description>WetWeather on Workbench</description>
    <
enabled>0</enabled>
    <
priority>0</priority>
</
application>


The strange thing is that there were multiple copies of it (5-10). Trying to delete all the entries using Prefs/Notifications, it freezed on the second attempt, unable to delete further entries or save/exit the program.
Starting Prefs/Notifications without SS, poped up DSI error. Increasing the stack size didn`t change a thing.

SW: OS4.1FE.U1

{edit}
a 1046 characters long string edit, to fit page layout.
Maybe this is the culprit for the Notifications freeze/crash?
{/edit}


Edited by Cass on 2017/5/6 11:45:08
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1309
I had this error after I installed WBexplorer.
You can read my comment about it.


Edited by Elwood on 2017/5/6 12:00:26
_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 11:31
From Russia
Posts: 4192
I have that error few days ago too, but then it disappear somehow. Probably after i replace original one, with Enhancer's one. But i not sure, sorry.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/2/15 11:05
Posts: 84
I tried WBExplorer too, just before the problem appeared!
Now it seems resolved, after editing out one by one the strange entries with garbled characters (reset->delete just one entry->save->reset->delete next one , and so on).

The "CHARSETCONVERT: Zero length FROM file "ram:tmp.txt".
C:Charsetconvert failed returncode 20" error message is attributed probably to strange behaviour of the running programs, forcing multiple or strange string entries to Notifications/Ringhio server.
The baffling thing to me is that theses entries crashed the Prefs/Notifications when I tried to delete them (string lenght related crash?)

   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3482
I got this error too now, 'thanks' to Workbench Explorer. I have a suspicion it may be something to do with it supplying a Null pointer for it's description, because it says "(null)" but all other Ringhio apps without a description just say they have no description.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/9/28 23:42
From Bettendorf, IA, USA
Posts: 120
My description is not blank:

if ((appID=IApplication->RegisterApplication(PROJECT_NAME2,
        
REGAPP_URLIdentifier,                "workbenchexplorer.com",
        
REGAPP_Description,                    SAK_LocaleString(MSG_ABOUT_TAG_LINE),
        
REGAPP_NoIcon,                        appShowIcon,
        
REGAPP_AppIconInfo,                    AppIconInfo,
        
REGAPP_FileName,                    ProgramComplete,
        
REGAPP_HasIconifyFeature,            TRUE,
        
REGAPP_HasPrefsWindow,                TRUE,
        
REGAPP_CanCreateNewDocs,            TRUE,
        
REGAPP_CustomPrefsFileName,            ProgramPrefsFile,
    
TAG_END)))


This is how I submit messages:

Result=IApplication->Notify(appID,
        
APPNOTIFY_Title,                    Title,
        
APPNOTIFY_Text,                        VABuffer,
        
APPNOTIFY_PubScreenName,            ScreenName,
        
APPNOTIFY_ImageFile,                ImageFile,        // 32x32 max
        
APPNOTIFY_ImageVertAlign,            1,
        
APPNOTIFY_BackMsg,                    BackMsg,
    
TAG_DONE);


Why do I and my 3 beta testers not get this error?

_________________
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/9/28 23:42
From Bettendorf, IA, USA
Posts: 120
I deleted the entry in Prefs->Notifications, changed to this:

REGAPP_Description, "Test",

It works.

REGAPP_Description, "A better way to brwose drawers",

Does not work. (null)
When open Notifications window I get the error message.
But not when just "Test"

_________________
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3150
@mritter0

Maybe your localised string is getting freed before application.library has finished with it?

   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/9/28 23:42
From Bettendorf, IA, USA
Posts: 120
I Unregister the app before closing Locale.

See my edit above.

_________________
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/9/28 23:42
From Bettendorf, IA, USA
Posts: 120
Error: A better way to browse drawers
Works: A better way browse drawer

Error: I like to ride bikes
Works: I like ride bikes

Error: Welcome To The Jungle
Works: Welcome The Jungle

Error: to
Works: too


Seeing a pattern here......


Edited by mritter0 on 2017/5/6 17:35:26
_________________
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 359
@mritter0

even if you "put" such string between quotes (or single quotes)?

TO is an argument in charsetconvert.

Maybe RinghioServer when creating TMP.TXT does it in a funny way that "confuses" (the cat!) charsetconvert :-/

   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3482
@jabirulo
Interesting idea! For the sake of discussion, here's CharsetConvert's arguments:
FROM/A,FROMCHARSET/A,TO,TOCHARSET,EOL/K

It sounds plausible that RinghioServer might not use quotes for the FROM argument...

@mritter0
Why not try using the following string, as a possible work-around:
"\"A better way to browse drawers\""

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/9/28 23:42
From Bettendorf, IA, USA
Posts: 120
Using the extra quotes does work!

So then it is an error in the Ringhio server, not WEx.

Someone needs to pass this info along to the developers. I am surprised that no one else has used the word 'to' in their description.

_________________
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 11:31
From Russia
Posts: 4192
@mritter0
I submit BZ for , so if max will fix it it will be in some of updates in the Enhancer.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: recent Ringhio Server error at start up
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1024
But even so, you (mritter0) had better use the workaround of double-quoting the message in WEx, because you cannot rely on everybody to have the Enhancer Pack, and the bug is not likely to be fixed in the Ringhio version accompanying AmigaOS.

Best regards,

Niels

   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project