Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
74 user(s) are online (61 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 74

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Anyone tried DU on a SAM yet ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 14:24
From Scarfskerry
Posts: 560
Hi,


Just wondering if anyone has tried Digital Universe on a SAM or even a classic PPC Amiga.

There is no reason it should not work on any OS4 machine, but I would be interested to know how it runs on the lower range CPU speeds.

BTW. It runs VERY nicely on a 1.26GHz Amiga One



Bill.


Edited by BillE on 2008/11/18 17:30:56
   Report Go to top

Re: Anyne tried DU on a SAM yet ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/24 13:43
From Long Riston, East Yorkshire.
Posts: 756
@BillE

Quote:
BTW. It runs VERY nicely on a 1.26GHz Amiga One

Bill.

Show off!!!

_________________
Peter Swallow

Eyetech A1XE-G3 800Mhz OS4.1
Towered A1200 OS3.9
   Report Go to top

Re: Anyne tried DU on a SAM yet ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/11/3 12:06
From South France
Posts: 759
Hi,
Just downloaded the demo version.
Will get it a try later today on my SAM440, when I'll be back at home.
I'll post comment after ...

   Report Go to top

Re: Anyne tried DU on a SAM yet ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/11/3 12:06
From South France
Posts: 759
I've downloaded the demonstration version and installed it.
It simply work fine.
I've only seen one bug, it's when I move view using arrow keys ... it doesn't remove last frame and write new one over last one ... with few modes ... it fastly become scratch graphics :p
I can then use REFRESH option in menu to make display clean again ...
Except this strange bug, every thing work fine and smoothly :)

   Report Go to top

Re: Anyne tried DU on a SAM yet ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 14:24
From Scarfskerry
Posts: 560
@freddix

> I've only seen one bug, it's when I move view using arrow keys ...
> it doesn't remove last frame and write new one over last one

Are you using the cursor keys ?

If so they increment/decrement time not position. The numeric keypad is used to move the view around. It sounds as if you have "Star Trails" enabled - which 'should' be OFF by default. That certainly would describe what you are seeing though.

Check the Display/Objects Prefs and see if Star Trails is enabled, it is under the first tab.

If not you may have found a bug!


Thanks for confirming it works with the SAM as I do not have one myself to try it out.



Bill.

   Report Go to top

Re: Anyone tried DU on a SAM yet ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/11/3 12:06
From South France
Posts: 759
@BillE:
I've modified some settings options (didn't remind exactly whiwh ones) and now the bug is no more available, even cursor keys works with time changing
Effectively, to move in the map, I can use keypad arrows :)
All work perfectly :)

   Report Go to top

Re: Anyone tried DU on a SAM yet ?
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/26 23:16
Posts: 983
@BillE
DU was installed on both the MicroA1-C and Sam440ep on display at AmiWest in October. Both running AmigaOS 4.1 of course. No complaints.

_________________
Be authentic. Get AmigaOS.
Amiga Users of Calgary (AMUC)
   Report Go to top

Re: Anyone tried DU on a SAM yet ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 14:24
From Scarfskerry
Posts: 560
@ssolie

Quote:

DU was installed on both the MicroA1-C and Sam440ep on display at AmiWest in October. Both running AmigaOS 4.1 of course. No complaints.


Excellent news and thanks for doing that.

Any difference in performance? I know in general that the SAM and A1 may roughly be the same regards DDR mem vs CPU speed, but DU is rather CPU intensive.


Bill.

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project