Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
56 user(s) are online (48 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 56

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



(1) 2 »


UAE JIT BETA 4
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 2975
Beta 4 ready for testing:

http://euaejit.blogspot.dk/

   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/4/28 3:57
From Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 816
I will do a port for the X1000 in a couple of hours.

Edit: Email sent to the usual people :)


Edited by MickJT on 2014/7/21 13:00:19
   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/6/1 13:11
From Germany
Posts: 727
@MickJT
Can you send me a copy to tommysammyatgmxpointde?

_________________
AmigaOne X1000 Betatester A1-X1090
AmigaOne X1000/4GB Ram/Saphire Radeon 7850 1GB/256GB SSD HD/2GB CF Card/RTL8169Network/
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=28870
   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 897
@MickJT : not received

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/4/28 3:57
From Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 816
Email sent to both of you.

   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 871
Sadly my Amiga is boxed right now or else I would be stress testing this too.

Really awesome effort to get this out of the door! Even more impressive is the speed at which it is developing.

Did I read that the PA6T is not fully supported by it yet?

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/4/28 3:57
From Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 816
Almos and I don't really know. I'm just building it against a G5 target (-mcpu=970) and also with -mno-powerpc64 (otherwise the mouse movements are inverted). If the PA6T has other missing instructions (other than mcrxr) that get emulated by the OS, then it could be sped up further. Tobias Netzel wrote an mcrxr replacement function for G5 CPUs.

   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 871
@MickJT

Thanks. Does the PA6T make use of the mcrxr replacement function for G5 CPUs?

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/4/28 3:57
From Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 816
@ddni

That's not the right way of wording it. G5 and PA6T don't have an mcrxr function. From what I've read, the operating system traps and emulates that function.

http://euaejit.blogspot.com.au/2012/10/jinxed-it-more-apples.html
http://tenfourfox.blogspot.com.au/201 ... s-your-javascript-no.html

Going by that last link, it's the trapping that slows it right down. Avoiding the use of that function altogether is much faster.

So for E-UAE, Tobias wrote a replacement function that does the work of what mcrxr would do, using other CPU instructions instead. That way, E-UAE never even tries using mcrxr when _ARCH_PWR4 is defined at build time (which gets included when you use -mcpu=970).

   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 871
@MickJT

Ah I see. Thanks.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/4/28 3:57
From Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 816
tommysammy notified me about some problems with the X1000 builds I did. Anyone who got an e-mail before will receive another one very soon.

Edit: Emails sent. It's related to the issue I had with ffmpeg. I think it's the binutils I have causing an issue at the linking stage if certain flags are used (altivec). Altivec flags aren't needed to build e-uae but I used them as an experiment.


Edited by MickJT on 2014/7/26 16:06:01
   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/4/28 3:57
From Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 816
There's an "official" X1000 build now: http://euaejit.blogspot.com.au/2014/0 ... dreds-and-xthousands.html

It lacks uaescsi.device, but I've let him know about that.

   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/2/23 13:49
From Finland, the land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki
Posts: 1059
@MickJT

Thanks a lot all involved ! For example TBL Starstruck demo plays perfectly on X1000. So JIT really makes difference when UAE is compiled properly to different CPU's.

_________________
Rock lobster bit me, so excuse me.
X1000 + AmigaOS 4.1 FE. Be authentic.
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." - Seymour Cray
   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/6/1 13:11
From Germany
Posts: 727
@TSK How got you TBL Starstruck worked? I tried it but have no luck

_________________
AmigaOne X1000 Betatester A1-X1090
AmigaOne X1000/4GB Ram/Saphire Radeon 7850 1GB/256GB SSD HD/2GB CF Card/RTL8169Network/
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=28870
   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/6/1 13:11
From Germany
Posts: 727
@TSK
Got Starstruck and Rift from TBL working.
It is very fast

_________________
AmigaOne X1000 Betatester A1-X1090
AmigaOne X1000/4GB Ram/Saphire Radeon 7850 1GB/256GB SSD HD/2GB CF Card/RTL8169Network/
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=28870
   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1470
@samo79
Just a quick test as I don't use UAE a lot.

I have 2 setup WB31 and WB39.
With standard UAE and X1000 one, I use the same UAE.rc config

With standard UAE
WB31 & WB39 are windowed and nice colors/resolution (UAEGFX 1024x768 32bits), full-screen works fine.

With standard UAE
WB31 & WB39 are full-screen with white big borders and bad colors/resolution (PAL Low resolution), no way to switch fullscreen/windowed with CTRL-ALT-S keys


Have the rc files have to be modified with this new version ?

Thank you

   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/2/23 13:49
From Finland, the land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki
Posts: 1059
@tommysammy

Forgot to say I PM'ed you yesterday (if you didn't notice already). How did you get Rift working ? It gets stuck when black dressed woman is displayed on my machine.

_________________
Rock lobster bit me, so excuse me.
X1000 + AmigaOS 4.1 FE. Be authentic.
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." - Seymour Cray
   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/2/23 13:49
From Finland, the land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki
Posts: 1059
@zzd10h

You have to add few settings which are needed to enable JIT. Check the readme. I haven't found a perfect config yet.

_________________
Rock lobster bit me, so excuse me.
X1000 + AmigaOS 4.1 FE. Be authentic.
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." - Seymour Cray
   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1470
@TSK
thank you, I had read the ReadMe, especially that :

"You can reuse the same configuration files, HD image files, prepared folders that were already working with the previous E-UAE version."

Now, I will try that :

However, for testing the JIT implementation please make sure you set up the configuration exactly as listed below:
cpu_speed=max
cpu_type=68020 (or 68EC020, 68040, see Known issues)
cpu_compatible=false
cpu_cycle_exact=false
blitter_cycle_exact=false
comp_optimize=true
cachesize=8192 (or higher)
comp_constjump=yes
comp_trustbyte=indirect (see Known issues)
comp_trustword=indirect
comp_trustlong=indirect

   Report Go to top

Re: UAE JIT BETA 4
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/4/28 3:57
From Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 816
@zd110h

Are you using an SDL build at all? lalt+lctrl will change to F12 unless you add sdl.map_raw_keys=true into .uaerc

   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project