Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
73 user(s) are online (54 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 72

RIBDEVIL, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





2D Hardware Accelerated Compositing RadeonHD
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/3/16 11:27
Posts: 140
Will 2D Hardware Accelerated Compositing with RadeonHD-Cards speed up E-UAE Video-Output?

I´m asking, because it seems that the Videodisplay-Update looks sluggish, specially when games scrolling horizontally.

I´m experimenting a little bit by creating new Screenmodes with Picasso96, it have improved displayspeed but its not perfect.

RadeonHD-Card should be fast enough to render it or is the problem the emulation of the chipset?

   Report Go to top

Re: 2D Hardware Accelerated Compositing RadeonHD
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3490
To the best of my knowledge:

Quote:
Will 2D Hardware Accelerated Compositing with RadeonHD-Cards speed up E-UAE Video-Output?

Not unless (or until) E-UAE is modified to use Compositing. MIGHT be quite easy to do, but no-one has yet picked-up the challenge...

Quote:
specially when games scrolling horizontally. ... RadeonHD-Card should be fast enough to render it or is the problem the emulation of the chipset?

If you are talking about "screen tearing", then that is caused by a mismatch between the screen's actual refresh rate & the emulated Amiga's refresh rate. Some people (like DAX) have used clever CRT tricks to make the screen's refresh rate match (well be a multiple of) the emulated one, to minimise such problems. I recall that RunInUAE's FAQ mentions this.

If you are talking about slow frame rate, then E-UAE is *much* slower when using a scaled resolution (like 640x512). If you are able to use a 'native' resolution (like 320x256) then I could often achieve full frame rate on a 667MHz Sam440. I don't know what a Sam460 is like, but an X1000 can handle 640x480 fine. This problem would be reduced/eliminated if E-UAE was modified to use Compositing (for scaling).

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: 2D Hardware Accelerated Compositing RadeonHD
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/6/3 12:49
Posts: 185
Hello

I never used EUAE but perhaps you can use it at 320x256
then use aminet/clonewindow to scale it to the resolution you want
Clonewindow use hardware compositing

Alain Thellier

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project