Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
51 user(s) are online (41 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 50

billyfish, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





External edit function
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/2/10 12:07
From UK
Posts: 72
Is the a way to change the external text editor from Ed to NotePad in Ibrowse when you press the E button on the bottom right of a text entry field. I was able to do this in Aweb but cannot find how to do it in Ibrowse.

_________________
A1XE G4 800Mhz, 512Mb, Sil0680, ATI9200se 128Mb, Sounblaster Live & Catweazle Mk3 with SID chip +OS4.1.
A4000 233MhzPPC/04025Mhz, 112Mb, CyberPPC, OS3.9
Other Amiga's A4000, A2000 A500+, A500 & various hardware. 15+ other retro machines.
   Report Go to top

Re: External edit function
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/1 15:25
From UK
Posts: 26

   Report Go to top

Re: External edit function
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3454
@Vader

Hmm, i'm not using IBrowser, but AWeb, so please don't take
this post as IBrowse bashing

But, isn't this a rather complicated way to change a setting?
Why not implement it in IBrowse's own Settings window?

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr.
   Report Go to top

Re: External edit function
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 18:13
From Sweden
Posts: 275
@Vader

I was about the RTFM and explain it but I didn't have to
...

Besides... what are you guys doing now?

   Report Go to top

Re: External edit function
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 18:13
From Sweden
Posts: 275
@Raziel

That is how you edit env-archives in AOS and it's really simple (compared to winblows, don't understand nothing there ) ....

Just load/create the file and save it... that's it... simple! Use EditPad or NotePad depending on the AOS you use (guesing on NotePad for AOS 4 )...

   Report Go to top

Re: External edit function
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3454
@hotrod

Hmm, you are right, it's the "Amiga" way of doing things.
It's just, i'm so used to have all i need in one place.


_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr.
   Report Go to top

Re: External edit function
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/1 15:25
From UK
Posts: 26
@Raziel

Because, to the best of my knowledge, and this was done before my time so I might be wrong, but EDITOR is a standard variable used by various applications, so rather than changing the prefs for various apps, you set it once and they all work ... just don't ask me what other apps use the variable as I have no idea

   Report Go to top

Re: External edit function
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3454
@Vader

Ahh, so it's kind of a "global" variable your are using

Thanks for the enlightment

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr.
   Report Go to top

Re: External edit function
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/1 15:25
From UK
Posts: 26
@hotrod

Quote:

hotrod wrote:
@Vader
Besides... what are you guys doing now?


I haven't spoken to Stefan for over a month, so no idea what he is doing atm. Meldon I spoke to a week or so ago for the first time in almost a year, and he is just busy working all the time. Not sure what Oliver is doing, I know he is having a break from programming atm - probably watching the million TV shows we both like that all started in January

Me ? I'm busy decorating, catching up with copious amounts of TV that I keep missing while decorating, and just having a rest from computing out of work hours.

I should get up to speed again soon.

   Report Go to top

Re: External edit function
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/2/10 12:07
From UK
Posts: 72
@Vader

Sorry forgot about the online manual (who reads those anyway ).
I was going to agree rith Raziel about the long winded method but as you say it's global hopefuly all programs will use it now (if there are any others).

Cheers Arnie.

_________________
A1XE G4 800Mhz, 512Mb, Sil0680, ATI9200se 128Mb, Sounblaster Live & Catweazle Mk3 with SID chip +OS4.1.
A4000 233MhzPPC/04025Mhz, 112Mb, CyberPPC, OS3.9
Other Amiga's A4000, A2000 A500+, A500 & various hardware. 15+ other retro machines.
   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project