Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
68 user(s) are online (51 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 68

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Opening OWB from IBrowse
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1314
Hi all,

I open OWB from a contextual menu in IBrowse. It is set with these arguments:
*>NIL: %u

but I always have opening console windows called "IBrowse output" that say:
postProgressFinishedNotification

How can I get rid of it?


I tried >NIL: *>NIL: %u but the page doesn't load into OWB...

Thanks

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
   Report Go to top

Re: Opening OWB from IBrowse
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/8 18:02
From Germany
Posts: 391
@Elwood

I have not tried it but maybe its:
*>< >NIL: %u

   Report Go to top

Re: Opening OWB from IBrowse
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1247
@ZeroG,Elwood

I've encountered this problem before and it apparently occurs because IBrowse is already redirecting the output to a console (>CON:0/0/640/200/IBrowse...) when it launches a command. I don't think you want to redirect error output because you won't find out when something goes wrong with command startup. However, you can start OWB with a short script and redirect standard output to NIL. Here is the script I use:

; AmigaDOS Script for starting OWB from IBrowse
.key owb_start,xxxx/F
.def owb_start " "
.def xxxx "extra_args"

.bra {
.ket }

stack 500000
path/OWB >NIL: {owb_start}
; End of script

Replace "path" with the actual path to OWB on your system. I named the script "Start_OWB" but you can use any name you like. Be sure to set the "S" protection bit so that AmigaDOS recognizes it as an AmigaDOS script. Copy the script to your IBrowse directory. Enter the script name in the Action:Command string in the Button Configuration section and %u for the argument. When you press the button in the IBrowse toolbar, OWB should open with the same page displayed by IBrowse.

Please note that I've edited this post and added a stack command to the script. The OWB icon sets the stack to a similar value and it might be unstable without a large stack size. If OWB is still unstable you could try increasing the IBrowse Preferences/General/External Applications Default stack size to a higher value. I wouldn't do that unless necessary because it will waste memory providing a much larger stack than most Amiga programs need or will use.


Edited by xenic on 2009/1/18 18:05:09
   Report Go to top

Re: Opening OWB from IBrowse
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/8 18:02
From Germany
Posts: 391
@xenic

The OWB executable has a stackcookie, it should work without an extra stack command.

   Report Go to top

Re: Opening OWB from IBrowse
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1247
@ZeroG
I added it because OWB froze my system while I was editing a post here at the Amigans site. I had to reset the computer twice to get going again. I checked with Ranger and it seems to have a stack of 266000+ if the stack isn't increased in the shell. The extra stack won't hurt and my freeze may have just been a coincidence.

   Report Go to top

Re: Opening OWB from IBrowse
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1314
@xenic

Thanks for the idea. I'll try that.

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
   Report Go to top

Re: Opening OWB from IBrowse
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1314
@xenic

This works nicely.

Thanks.

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project