Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
79 user(s) are online (67 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 77

thellier, orgin, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Transmission/Torrent problems?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/16 14:18
Posts: 59
I've recently tried to use Transmission and was pleasantly surprised. It worked fine and had a nice interface.

But...

after trying to download anything, I got multiple lockups.
Searching for info, I found the "blame" was placed on SFS partitions. Had to create a FFS partition to be able to use torrents.

So, my question is: is this true? And if so, can it be solved?

Thanks in advance.

Nuno

   Report Go to top

Re: Transmission/Torrent problems?
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/11/25 16:32
From Caen (France)
Posts: 162
@BrandonLee

I don't think SFS is the cause because I download torrents on FFS and SFS partitions without any problem.

I suggest to raise the stack and/or to test other programs like amitorrent or the last ctorrent.

I suggest to test amitorrent before because it has no gui.

I almost forgot. Test torrents wuth only a few files with size < 2G.

This limit will be eliminated next month !!!

   Report Go to top

Re: Transmission/Torrent problems?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/30 18:43
From Norway
Posts: 2461
@BrandonLee

You could also try ctorrent_gui found on os4depot. Works with sfs.

_________________
Sam460 Lite
   Report Go to top

Re: Transmission/Torrent problems?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/16 14:18
Posts: 59
@Antique

Looked promising, but... locked up the mouse on the very first torrenty file I tried... :(

   Report Go to top

Re: Transmission/Torrent problems?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/30 18:43
From Norway
Posts: 2461
@BrandonLee

Did it just freeze the machine or did you press the button on something???

_________________
Sam460 Lite
   Report Go to top

Re: Transmission/Torrent problems?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/16 14:18
Posts: 59
@Antique

The machine "seemed" to be working fine, but the mouse stopped on its tracks. The keyboard reset combination worked, though.

In the meantime, I'm getting used to the CLI version. Better than nothing.

One more question: is 20k/s (the best I managed so far...) a sensible speed for this kind of operation?

   Report Go to top

Re: Transmission/Torrent problems?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/30 18:43
From Norway
Posts: 2461
@BrandonLee

That depends on several factors. How fast your line is and how many and how fast lines the ones sharing the files have. The popular files i get up to 34
-350kb/s and thats pretty much my line gives me

But if you want,you can Pm your e mail and i can send you a newer version of ctorrent. Maybe it works better?

_________________
Sam460 Lite
   Report Go to top

Re: Transmission/Torrent problems?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/24 13:43
From Long Riston, East Yorkshire.
Posts: 756
@BrandonLee

I have a different problem with transmission.

With Transmision running I cannot drag and drop on workbench. I have to pause transmission perform drag & drop, and then resume tranmission.
I don't know whether this is just an async problem, or something else in the system.

_________________
Peter Swallow

Eyetech A1XE-G3 800Mhz OS4.1
Towered A1200 OS3.9
   Report Go to top

Re: Transmission/Torrent problems?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/5 21:08
Posts: 62
@Swoop

I've noticed that too.
However if I iconify Transmission the problem goes away.

   Report Go to top

Re: Transmission/Torrent problems?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/24 13:43
From Long Riston, East Yorkshire.
Posts: 756
@Monoxyde

Quote:
I've noticed that too.
However if I iconify Transmission the problem goes away.


Thanks, I'll give that a try.

_________________
Peter Swallow

Eyetech A1XE-G3 800Mhz OS4.1
Towered A1200 OS3.9
   Report Go to top

Re: Transmission/Torrent problems?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/30 18:43
From Norway
Posts: 2461
@Swoop

I think the drag and drop is because of updating of the transmission window. Not sure why it does that,but get the same on ctorrent.

_________________
Sam460 Lite
   Report Go to top

Re: Transmission/Torrent problems?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/8 18:02
From Germany
Posts: 391

   Report Go to top

Re: Transmission/Torrent problems?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/26 11:55
From South Wales, UK
Posts: 206
@ZeroG

I fixed the drag and drop problem and uploaded the code to svn in february, just havent got around to doing anymore.
Part of the fact has been my wife being very "Pregnant" but she has recently given birth to our second daughter so im hoping to get some more time to myself and get back to my programming soon. :)

_________________
A1XE G4 800mhz,512mb,Radeon9200,SonyDRU-510A and 800a, Esi Juli@,Sil680,WiFi.
   Report Go to top

Re: Transmission/Torrent problems?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/24 13:43
From Long Riston, East Yorkshire.
Posts: 756
@Curty

Quote:
Part of the fact has been my wife being very "Pregnant" but she has recently given birth to our second daughter so im hoping to get some more time to myself and get back to my programming soon. :)

Congrats to both you and your wife, and I'd be glad to hear of any updates (of the programming kind ).

_________________
Peter Swallow

Eyetech A1XE-G3 800Mhz OS4.1
Towered A1200 OS3.9
   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project